So, what you are saying is that you believe that changing the filter (or any other part of the view) also changes the workspace configuration. And as you say, this *is *how it is described in the help.
I agree that the help and the current behavior are inconsistent. It does also seem that "set as default" and "lock to default" are inconsistent, because setting the default allows changing of the filter, without resetting the filter upon reset to default--but lock to default does not allow changing of the filter at all. If one can set the default and lock the workspace to, for example, the unchanged Starred view, why is one allowed to have a workspace, that has been reset to the default, but now has a changed Starred view in it? Is that an accurate explanation of your concern? Perhaps one solution would be a warning when the user reset the tab to the default saying that the default view has been modified and how to reset it if that is desired, or even the choice to reset the view. Personally, I wouldn't want it to be automatically reset – I would *not *want to risk an accidental double click on a tab resetting my view to a saved version and losing my work. But a warning and/or a dialog with the choice would seem reasonable. There is also the question of when to put an asterisk next to the workspace name. I suppose it depends what model we are following, whether or not modifying a view within a workspace also counts as modifying the workspace itself. I think the intention of the developer matches the program behavior and Dwight's explanation. However, the help implies the opposite. Since the help was written after the "default" feature was introduced, I suspect the help is what will eventually end up changing. On Wed, May 8, 2013 at 10:24 AM, Pawel Bartuzi <[email protected]>wrote: > Thank you for your replies - I think I understood what you mean however I > disagree. > > Just look what is written in MLO help file: > > *Workspaces (tabs) > There are tabs on the top of the MyLifeOrganized application we call > Workspaces. The Workspaces are used to store and quick access the > particular configuration for the selected view, additional filters, > zoom<http://settingvirtualroot.htm>, > selected tasks etc. The Workspaces can show different parts of the same > data files in different views. For example, in one tab you can work on a > current project in the other – view a small household chores and the third > tab -handle the Inbox. And you can switch between these Workspaces with a > single click! *(By the way, this is exactly as I use workspaces/tabs - > there are different filters for the same view (All tasks) set in individual > tabs so I can separate my work life from other aspects of my life etc. I > use parent filter for that). > More from a help file: > > *View > View is a particular way of displaying a filtered, sorted and grouped tasks > . By default MyLifeOrganized creates several default views such as > Outline<http://defaultoutlineviews.htm>views (hierarchical) and To-Do > list <http://default_to_do_list_views.htm> views (non-hierarchical). * > Judging from the definitions above: > - storing defaults for a tab/workspace should save selected view, > addtional filters, zoom etc. > - changing a view's filter _is_ changing the view (because a view is > defined by a filter) and it should be possible to revert to the saved > default for a given tab/workspace. > > We can see that some work has already been done: when you lock defaults > for a tab then filter's change starts new "modified" tab - so MLO does > treat it as a change of a saved default. It just doesn't detect the change > and doesn't offer possibility to revert to saved default when the defaults > are not locked - and I think this behavior should be changed. Especially > that change in a view's filter can be tricky to undo or even notice at > times. > > -- > Pawel > > -- > You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups > "MyLifeOrganized" group. > To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an > email to [email protected]. > To post to this group, send email to [email protected]. > Visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/mylifeorganized?hl=en. > For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out. > > > -- Lisa ------------------------------ Lisa Stroyan, mailto: [email protected] <[email protected]> -- You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "MyLifeOrganized" group. To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to [email protected]. To post to this group, send email to [email protected]. Visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/mylifeorganized?hl=en. For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out.
