In European tournaments, I have been told, when a group is claimed by one player to be a seki, and by the other player to be dead, the player who claims it is dead will receive one stone, as a prisoner, from his stubborn opponent foreach stone he plays in his own would-be- territory.

If dame was filled, I see no reason why this would not be possible to implement as a cleanup phase on go-servers, like the one used for new zealand and chinese rules. Do you? It would be the human-adaption of the play-it-out-then-restore-and-count-again, that David mentioned.

Best
Basti Weidemyr

PS: It is midnight and I am really not a rules expert, like some people here. Did I overlook something?
--------------------------------

On Sep 16, 2008, at 1:06 AM, Peter Drake wrote:

I've asked this question of a couple of people and got different answers, so I thought I'd check here.

Suppose, under Japanese rules, I throw a (hopeless) stone into your territory. I keep passing until you've actually removed it (playing four stones inside your own territory, thus losing a net three points). If you try to pass as well, I stubbornly insist that the stone is alive, thus restarting the game.

What prevents this sort of abuse? Is this one of those cases where the tournament director has to adjudicate?

(This is not a problem under Chinese or AGA rules.)

Peter Drake
http://www.lclark.edu/~drake/



_______________________________________________
computer-go mailing list
computer-go@computer-go.org
http://www.computer-go.org/mailman/listinfo/computer-go/

_______________________________________________
computer-go mailing list
computer-go@computer-go.org
http://www.computer-go.org/mailman/listinfo/computer-go/

Reply via email to