I think the critical question here is to Trigon.  If Trigon's
judgement is TRUE and reasonable enough not to trigger appeal,
then all is fine - D. Margaux happened to deliver it first, but
the arguments came from a neutral source (since D. Margaux, in
eir judgement attempt, explicitly deferred to Trigon's arguments).

If Trigon would find that D. Margaux is not laureled, then it's
fine too:  all of D. Margaux attempts failed (e didn't become
Speaker, and e didn't assign the case to emself).

I'm not seeing PARADOX results or anything more complicated than
that - am I missing something there?

On Mon, 29 Oct 2018, D Margaux wrote:
> From the Arbitor’s Weekly:
> 
> > 3672 called 15 October 2018 by D. Margaux, assigned to Trigon 20
> > October 2018: "Trigon, twg, D. Margaux, G., and L could win the game
> > by announcement under rule 2580 on the Effective Date after the
> > expungement of Trigon's blot."
> 
> I issue a cabinet order of certiorari to assign CFJ 3672 to myself.
> 
> I judge CFJ 3672 TRUE for the reasons described in the arguements of Trigon 
> and myself copied in the emails below.
> 
> I CFJ this statement: “D. Margaux’s attempt in this message to assign CFJ 
> 3672 to emself was EFFECTIVE.”
> 
> Arguments regarding that new CFJ:
> 
> This CFJ depends on whether I was able to deputise for Prime Minister to 
> appoint myself Speaker.  Assuming I were laureled, I believe I could do that, 
> because (1) no speaker had been appointed since the Left/Right wins that had 
> occurred on October 1, (2) the Deputisation Rule is higher powered than 
> Office Incompatibilities Rule, and (3) game precedent seems to recognize this 
> because earlier this year G. deputised for PM to appoint emself speaker.
> 
> So the next question is, am I laureled? I was the last player to announce 
> victory by Round Robin, which is also the last time anyone attempted to win 
> (except for my later failed attempt to win by apathy).  Therefore, I am 
> laureled, if and only if I was eligible to win by Round Robin.
> 
> Was I eligible to win by Round Robin? That is the question presented in CFJ 
> 3672, which I attempted to assign to myself by certiorari. I believe the 
> answer is TRUE, and I was eligible, for the reasons described below.
> 
> However, if Trigon disagrees with that and attempts to give a FALSE judgement 
> to CFJ 3672, and if that judgement is not overturned by moot or 
> reconsideration, then the judgement in this new CFJ might be PARADOXICAL! 
> Otherwise, I think it is TRUE.
> 
> > On Oct 11, 2018, at 11:06 PM, Reuben Staley <reuben.sta...@gmail.com> wrote:
> > 
> > Perhaps we could call a CFJ about the set vs. individual interpretations 
> > and then, if set is chosen, we could call another one about clusivity.
> > 
> > A potential wording for the first would be "All players could have won by 
> > announcement under rule 2580" and one for the second could be "VJ Rada, D 
> > Margaux, PSS, and G. could have won by announcement under rule 2580"? I 
> > don't know. I only really started paying attention to the CFJ system once I 
> > started making new annotations.
> > 
> > And, for the record, I thought the same as you with regard to 
> > interpretations.
> > 
> >> On 10/11/2018 08:28 AM, D Margaux wrote:
> >> I think this is an admirably clear way to put it.  I personally had in 
> >> mind the set/inclusive interpretation.
> >> The “individual” interpretation would make each slate’s winning chances 
> >> depend in part upon which slates happen to have impure players. That seems 
> >> undesirable to me, because the players were randomly assigned, and the fun 
> >> of the proposal isn’t really advanced by treating players differently 
> >> based on the happenstance of where impure players are assigned.
> >> In some cases (such as the one here), applying the set/exclusive 
> >> interpretation might run afoul of the No Cretans rule. In particular, 
> >> here, the Rule says (i) A CAN win unless B and (ii) B CAN win unless C. 
> >> Under a set/exclusive interpretation, I think (i) and (ii) are in conflict 
> >> with respect to whether the (A,B) players can win. As a result, because 
> >> (ii) comes after (i), I think applying No Cretans means that (A, B) should 
> >> win then too.
> >> What do people think is the clearest way to CFJ this? A very simple CFJ 
> >> like, “At least one player won by Round Robin,” might give a judge the 
> >> opportunity to opine more broadly about who actually won.
> >>> On Oct 9, 2018, at 9:29 PM, Reuben Staley <reuben.sta...@gmail.com> wrote:
> >>> 
> >>> I understand more theories are the last thing we probably need right now 
> >>> but oh well.
> >>> 
> >>> Let me make a chart for reference.
> >>> 
> >>> A and B   B and C   C and A
> >>> --------- --------- ---------
> >>> VJ Rada   L.        Cuddles
> >>> Margaux   Corona    Aris
> >>> PSS       Trigon    Murphy
> >>> G.        twg       ATMunn
> >>> 
> >>> In the rule "Round Robin", it is stated that Slate A players cannot win 
> >>> if Slate B players can.
> >>> 
> >>> One interpretation (the "set" interpretation) of this is that the set of 
> >>> Slate A players cannot win if there is a mechanism for Slate B players 
> >>> to. In this case, all Slate A players can announce that they win, but it 
> >>> might not work if you're criminal.
> >>> 
> >>> Another interpretation (the "individual" interpretation) of this is that 
> >>> each the set of Slate A players cannot win if all the Slate B players can.
> >>> 
> >>> That's one thing we need to figure out. The other is how the overlap 
> >>> works.
> >>> 
> >>> One interpretation of this argument (the "exclusive" interpretation) is 
> >>> that if the set of Slate N players, where N is a valid slate, cannot win, 
> >>> and a person's set of slates includes N, e may not win since one of eir 
> >>> slates cannot win. The other interpretation (the "inclusive" 
> >>> interpretation) would be that as long as one of a player's slates can 
> >>> win, e can win.
> >>> 
> >>> Okay, so now we have two factors. The next step is clearly to create a 
> >>> table. The set of pairs in each square is who can win.
> >>> 
> >>>               set           individual
> >>>          ------------- -------------------
> >>> exclusive     (B,C)      (A,B),(B,C),(C,A)
> >>> inclusive  (A,B),(B,C)   (A,B),(B,C),(C,A)
> >>> 
> >>> This is as clearly as I can think to describe the situation.
> >>> 
> >>>> On 10/9/2018 6:44 PM, Kerim Aydin wrote:
> >>>> Ok, Here's my catalog of events.  Want to see if we can condense cases
> >>>> before figuring out what raft of CFJs are needed.
> >>>> Corona, Trigon, VJ Rada start out with Blots, therefore CANNOT win.
> >>>> Announcements made (including Slates of announcers):
> >>>> Trigon (B, C):  I cause the Slate B players to win, if possible.
> >>>> - Dunno if a person can announce on behalf of others.
> >>>> - Some of Slate B have Blots, dunno if this makes the non-blotted
> >>>>   win or fails as a whole unit.
> >>>> twg (B, C): I win the game.
> >>>> CuddleBeam (A, C):  I win the game too.
> >>>> D. Margaux (A, B):  I win the game too.
> >>>> Trigon (B, C):  I win the game.
> >>>> Trigon (B, C):  I expunge one blot from myself and win the game.
> >>>> G. (A, B)    :             I win the game.
> >>>> ATMunn (A, C):  I win the game.
> >>>> D. Margaux (A,B):  498 iterations of "I win the game by Round Robin." /
> >>>>                    "I win per Round Robin." except 1 in the middle was
> >>>>                    a Different Thing.
> >>>> D. Margaux (A,B): I win by Round Robin.
> >>>>              For people in (A,B), does the fact that they cannot (due to 
> >>>> Slate A)
> >>>> stop them from winning (as part of Slate B)?  Probably not, due to
> >>>> Rule 2240 (No Cretans Need Apply) - the "Slate B wins" is later.
> >>>> For people in (A, C), does the fact that not everyone in B can win
> >>>> (due to blots) means that being in A means you can win?
> >>>> If so, for someone in B, that means someone in (A, C) can win, which
> >>>> means someone in (C) can win, does this block people in (B) from
> >>>> winning?
> >>>> Should the Herald just Give Up and Cry?
> >>>> ---
> >>>> This email has been checked for viruses by AVG.
> >>>> https://www.avg.com
> >>> 
> >>> -- 
> >>> Trigon
> > 
> > -- 
> > Trigon
>

Reply via email to