Bugs item #812376, was opened at 2003-09-25 11:10 Message generated for change (Settings changed) made by gbrandl You can respond by visiting: https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=105470&aid=812376&group_id=5470
Please note that this message will contain a full copy of the comment thread, including the initial issue submission, for this request, not just the latest update. Category: Python Library Group: Python 2.3 >Status: Closed >Resolution: Fixed Priority: 5 Submitted By: Richard Townsend (rptownsend) Assigned to: Nobody/Anonymous (nobody) Summary: Problem with ftplib on HP-UX11i Initial Comment: The following code fails on Python 2.3 (and 2.3.1). import ftplib f = ftplib.FTP() f.connect('hostname', 21) this raises: socket.gaierror: (8, 'host nor service provided, or not known') In FTP.connect() it is the call to socket.getaddrinfo() that is raising the exception. The same code works OK on Python 2.2.1 If I pass an IP address instead of a hostname, the code runs OK on Python 2.3 ---------------------------------------------------------------------- >Comment By: Georg Brandl (gbrandl) Date: 2006-02-20 18:44 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=849994 Closing then. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Richard Townsend (rptownsend) Date: 2004-03-24 16:55 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=200117 I have just tested this on Python 2.3.3 (sorry about the delay) and now it runs with no errors! ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Richard Townsend (rptownsend) Date: 2003-10-01 10:11 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=200117 I tried dropping different versions of socketmodule.c & socketmodule.h into Python-2.3.1 and re-building. The earliest version of socketmodule.c I could build & run was 1.219 and this does raise the exception for a hostname that needs to be resolved via NIS. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Anthony Baxter (anthonybaxter) Date: 2003-09-30 14:48 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=29957 Darn. There's probably something Not Quite Right with how socketmodule.c interacts with HP/UX's NIS, then. I'm not sure what the problem would be, and I don't have access to a HP/UX box that uses NIS for hostnames, so I'm not able to help... As previously mentioned, there's a _lot_ of changes been made to socketmodule.c between 2.2 and 2.3. If you're CVS-savvy, you might like to try checking out different versions between 2.200 (the version in 2.2) and 2.270 (the version in 2.3) to narrow down exactly when the module stops working. One thing - "_" isn't supposed to be legal in domain names, I don't know if that's related (although the other name has no underscores...) ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Richard Townsend (rptownsend) Date: 2003-09-30 13:56 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=200117 The hostnames I have tried are 'tate_mod' and 'rosalind'. Lookup is by NIS. I can ping and remote login to these workstations using their hostnames. I have since discovered that if I add an entry to /etc/hosts specifying a different hostname 'fred' and rosalind's IP address, then f.connect('fred', 21) doesn't give the error. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Anthony Baxter (anthonybaxter) Date: 2003-09-30 13:01 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=29957 Hm. What's the actual hostname you're trying? I can't get this failure on HP/UX 11.11, using the HP testdrive box. Are you using NIS or some other non-standard method of hostname lookup? The problem is that there's a fair bit changed between 2.2 and 2.3's socket module (there was 71 different checkins). ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Richard Townsend (rptownsend) Date: 2003-09-30 12:21 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=200117 Apologies for not being clear. I actually used the real hostname (in quotes) of a workstation on our local network in place of 'hostname'. If I use 'localhost' or the hostname of the workstation the application is running on, I don't get the error. If I use the hostname of any other workstation on the local network, I do get the error. Running exactly the same code on Python 2.2.1 works OK for all hostnames. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Anthony Baxter (anthonybaxter) Date: 2003-09-30 09:44 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=29957 Using the HP testdrive system HP-UX spe169 B.11.11 U 9000/800 1939057856 unlimited-user license I did the following with 2.3.2c1: >>> import ftplib >>> f = ftplib.FTP() >>> f.connect('localhost', 21) '220 spe169.testdrive.hp.com FTP server (Version 1.1.214.4(PHNE_27765) Wed Sep 4 05:59:34 GMT 2002) ready.' >>> Ah. In your example, you have 'hostname'. Is that _literally_ what you typed? If so, it's looking for a machine called 'hostname'. I tried that, and got the same error you got. Try it without the single quotes around 'hostname'. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Anthony Baxter (anthonybaxter) Date: 2003-09-26 17:50 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=29957 Hm. I'm obviously having reading difficulties. There's obviously something else going on entirely. Damn. I will try to grab some time on one of the HP test boxes to see if I can figure what's going on... ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Anthony Baxter (anthonybaxter) Date: 2003-09-26 17:49 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=29957 Did the workaround fix the problem? I'm not sure why it'd work for 2.3 and not 2.3.1, unless 2.3.1's script was generated with a newer version of autoconf - aha. Yes, it was. If you could check if the fix in https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=105470&aid=811160&group_id=5470 "makes it all better", that would be great. Put aclocal.m4 alongside configure &c, re-run autoconf, then ./configure ; make ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Richard Townsend (rptownsend) Date: 2003-09-26 17:21 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=200117 I had already applied the workaround to my 2.3.1 build. I don't think configure was broken with Python 2.3 - and it was with 2.3 that I first noticed the problem. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Anthony Baxter (anthonybaxter) Date: 2003-09-26 17:04 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=29957 Hm. I wonder if this is related to the configure broken-ness. Can you apply the workaround from http://www.python.org/2.3.1/bugs.html and see if the problem is fixed? ---------------------------------------------------------------------- You can respond by visiting: https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=105470&aid=812376&group_id=5470 _______________________________________________ Python-bugs-list mailing list Unsubscribe: http://mail.python.org/mailman/options/python-bugs-list/archive%40mail-archive.com