Bugs item #1158490, was opened at 2005-03-07 20:11 Message generated for change (Comment added) made by lemburg You can respond by visiting: https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=105470&aid=1158490&group_id=5470
Please note that this message will contain a full copy of the comment thread, including the initial issue submission, for this request, not just the latest update. Category: Python Library Group: Python 2.4 Status: Open Resolution: None Priority: 3 Submitted By: mixedpuppy (mixedpuppy) Assigned to: M.-A. Lemburg (lemburg) Summary: locale fails if LANGUAGE has multiple locales Initial Comment: The locale module does not correctly handle the LANGUAGE environment variable if it contains multiple settings. Example: LANGUAGE="en_DK:en_GB:en_US:en" Note, en_DK does not exist in locale_alias In normalize, the colons are replaced with dots, which is incorrect. getdefaultlocal should seperate these first, then try each one until it finds one that works, or fails on all. GLIBC documentation: http://www.delorie.com/gnu/docs/glibc/libc_138.html "While for the LC_xxx variables the value should consist of exactly one specification of a locale the LANGUAGE variable's value can consist of a colon separated list of locale names." Testing this is simple, just set your LANGUAGE environment var to the above example, and use locale.getdefaultlocal() > export LANGUAGE="en_DK:en_GB:en_US:en" > python ActivePython 2.4 Build 244 (ActiveState Corp.) based on Python 2.4 (#1, Feb 9 2005, 19:33:15) [GCC 3.3.1 (SuSE Linux)] on linux2 Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information. >>> import locale >>> locale.getdefaultlocale() Traceback (most recent call last): File "<stdin>", line 1, in ? File "/opt/ActivePython-2.4/lib/python2.4/locale.py", line 344, in getdefaultlocale return _parse_localename(localename) File "/opt/ActivePython-2.4/lib/python2.4/locale.py", line 278, in _parse_localename raise ValueError, 'unknown locale: %s' % localename ValueError: unknown locale: en_DK:en_GB:en_US:en >>> ---------------------------------------------------------------------- >Comment By: M.-A. Lemburg (lemburg) Date: 2005-10-17 11:30 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=38388 Hi Bernhard, sorry my last comment wasn't clear: you get this output if you set the LANGUAGE variable to the example you gave (LANGUAGE=pt_BR:pt_PT:pt). The parsing order was changed, so that LANGUAGE is no longer searched for first, but instead as last resort if the other locale variables are not set. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Bernhard Reiter (ber) Date: 2005-10-16 15:26 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=113859 Hi Marc-Andre, do you mean that the current CVS version will return (None, None) always or only for special LANUGUAGE settings? I do not have an overview about other problems with the LANGUAGE variable (from gettext), but adding support for the proper parsing of the colons and the testing seems a good thing to do from my perspective. Getdefaultlocale() will not get called often and if additional information can be used from the LANGUAGE variable, this will be benefical to the applications. Anyway, just my 0,02 Euro-Cents. Bernhard R. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: M.-A. Lemburg (lemburg) Date: 2005-09-26 20:23 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=38388 The current CVS version returns this value: >>> import locale >>> locale.getdefaultlocale() (None, None) Given all the problems with the LANGUAGE environment variable (which is a gettext() only thing) I'm inclined to remove support for it altogether. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Bernhard Herzog (bernhard) Date: 2005-09-26 18:43 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=2369 Another consequence of this bug is that even if getdefaultlocale does not fail with an exception, it may return an invalid value for the encoding. E.g. one thuban user had LANGUAGE=pt_BR:pt_PT:pt getdefaultlocale did not raise an exception, but return "pt_pt" as the encoding because the normalized form of the above value was pt_BR.pt_pt and the locale module assumes that the part after the "." is the encoding. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: mixedpuppy (mixedpuppy) Date: 2005-03-10 22:50 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=1234417 IMHO the proper behaviour is to split on the colon, then try each one from start to finish until there is a success, or all fail. For example, if you just try en_DK, you will get a failure since that is not in locale.locale_alias, but en_GB or en_US would succeed. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Serge Orlov (sorlov) Date: 2005-03-10 19:48 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=1235914 The docs for getdefaultlocale state that it follows the GNU gettext search path. OTOH gettext can return result from any of catalogs en_DK:en_GB:en_US:en, it depends on the content of the message. So maybe getdefaultlocale should just pick up the first value from LANGUAGE ? ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: M.-A. Lemburg (lemburg) Date: 2005-03-10 16:43 Message: Logged In: YES user_id=38388 The URL you gave does state that LANGUAGE can take mulitple entries separated by colons. However, I fail to see how to choose the locale from the list of possibilities. Any ideas ? ---------------------------------------------------------------------- You can respond by visiting: https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=105470&aid=1158490&group_id=5470 _______________________________________________ Python-bugs-list mailing list Unsubscribe: http://mail.python.org/mailman/options/python-bugs-list/archive%40mail-archive.com