php-windows Digest 14 Aug 2002 00:38:28 -0000 Issue 1287
Topics (messages 15225 through 15242):
Re: Newbie needs help.
15225 by: Steve Jackson
date and time
15226 by: Sandeep Murphy
15227 by: Ross Fleming
Passing array to function
15228 by: Bill Hudspeth
15229 by: Scott Carr
addslashes
15230 by: Waldemar Brand Neto
15231 by: dash php
15232 by: Waldemar Brand Neto
Form Posting from script
15233 by: GeneralX
15234 by: Jim Hunter
15237 by: GeneralX
15239 by: Jim Hunter
15240 by: GeneralX
mail() function
15235 by: Marlene Burckhalter
15238 by: Ross Fleming
Mysql connect through proxy
15236 by: Daniel Masson
Code Conversion ASP --> PHP Example
15241 by: David R
Re: Date conversion
15242 by: Brad Thomas
Administrivia:
To subscribe to the digest, e-mail:
[EMAIL PROTECTED]
To unsubscribe from the digest, e-mail:
[EMAIL PROTECTED]
To post to the list, e-mail:
[EMAIL PROTECTED]
----------------------------------------------------------------------
--- Begin Message ---
Thanks all for your help, you all have probably saved me a lot of time.
I now have IIS running PHP and XP running MySQL. I am using MySQLFront to
develop the database etc.
Thanks again.
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Werner Stuerenburg [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
> Sent: 13 August 2002 11:36
> To: Steve Jackson
> Cc: Harrison Fisk; Zak Greant; David Axmark; Jeremy Cole; Olof Tjernren;
> Jim Winstead; Bertrand Matthelié; Kaj Arnö; Rasmus
> Subject: Re: [PHP-WIN] Newbie needs help.
>
>
> Hallo Steve!
>
> As an addendum: a very easy way to install Apache/MySQL/PHP on a
> Windows platform ist to use PHPTriad at
>
> http://sourceforge.net/projects/phptriad
>
> It installs smoothly and gives you a full working WAMP
> installation with very few clicks. The MySQL version is quite
> old, though, but this is no problem as you can simply overwrite
> it with a new one.
>
> Note that the popular browser based managing tool phpMyAdmin is
> included as well, which has its advantages over tools like MyCC
> and MySQLFront as you have to connect to a remote server via
> TCP/IP with those, which will not be possible with most ISPs due
> to security considerations, whereas phpMyAdmin works on the
> server machine in any case, so it conncets from localhost. It
> doesn't look that pretty, though.
>
>
> Harrison Fisk schrieb am Montag, 12. August 2002, 19:48:08:
>
> > Hello Steve,
>
> > Please find my answers underneath your questions.
>
> >>Hello all.
>
> >>I am new to PHP having used ASP for some time. (Seems a lot of us are
> >>moving this way) What I'm stuck on is this;
>
> >>I need to build a DB in MySQL and then use PHP to display it.
> >>My question is how you get a test environment working on XP Pro.
>
> >>I understand how to call up a database table from say Access because you
> >>can develop the DB using Office then use SQL strings to call it using
> >>ADODB connections.
>
> > MySQL natively connects using TCP/IP or named pipes on windows directly.
> > There are many different API's built over it though that you can connect
> > to MySQL with.
>
> > In PHP you will normally connect to it using the PHP API which is
> > described in great detail at http://www.php.net/manual/en/ref.mysql.php
> > Basically you will issue a mysql_connect() call then issue a
> mysql_query()
> > and get the results back with mysql_fetch_row() or something similar.
> > There are some examples in the documentation that I listed.
>
> > There are also many other API's available, such as the C API, and JDBC
> > that you may want to use to connect to MySQL for other purposes. Since
> > you are on windows, one common one to use is MyODBC, which is the
> > available at
> http://www.mysql.com/downloads/api-myodbc-3.51.html This will
> > allow you to connect to MySQL from various programs, including Access or
> > Excel if you so desire.
>
> >>How though do you make a MySQL database in a windows environment? Can it
> >>be done or is it done in Unix or Linux? If so are there any
> windows based
> >>programs to develop a MySQL database?
>
> > MySQL can run under windows or under a UNIX/Linux environment
> as a native
> > application. There are only a few very small differences
> between the two,
> > so it is perfectly normal for people to develop applications
> under windows
> > and then deploy them on Linux with little problem! There are a few more
> > issues with PHP differences between windows and UNIX/Linux, and they are
> > detailed in the documentation relating to the functionality.
>
> > For a GUI based application to connect to MySQL I recommend MyCC,
> > http://www.mysql.com/downloads/gui-mycc.html
> > It is multi-platform and is becoming better and better rapidly with each
> > release. Another program that others have used with success is
> > mysqlfront, this is a third party application that can be found at
> > www.mysqlfront.de
>
> >>I've been to www.mysql.com and downloaded the software for XP.
> >>So how do I use it? I ran the set-up prog and nothing seemed to happen.
>
> > There are a couple of steps you need to take on windows XP in
> order to get
> > MySQL running after you run the installer. It is recommended that you
> > first install MySQL as a service and then you can run it from your
> > services menu or at startup time. All of that information and
> more is at
> > http://www.mysql.com/doc/en/Windows_installation.html and
> > http://www.mysql.com/doc/en/NT_start.html
>
> >>PHP - can you configure IIS to run PHP? if so how?
>
> > Yes, PHP can run under IIS as two different types, either as a CGI or as
> > an ISAPI module. Here is the documentation that describes how to do
> > either method:
> > http://www.php.net/manual/en/install.iis.php#install.iis.iis4
> > I also believe that they distribute a Windows install which will can
> > automatically install PHP as a CGI for IIS, you can get that
> off of their
> > downloads page.
>
> >>Sorry if these questions are totally obvious to you all but I've been
> >>online searching for a couple of hours without any answer to these
> >>questions. I might be asking the wrong questions. I hope I am anyway!
>
> > The manuals for both products (MySQL and PHP) are quite good. The urls
> > for them are www.mysql.com/doc and http://www.php.net/manual/en/
> > The one nice feature is that they both are searchable as well,
> which aids
> > in finding what you want, even if you don't know where to get
> it exactly!
>
> >>Thanks in advance.
> >>Steve.
>
> > Hope that helps you solve some of your dilemmas!
>
> > Regards,
>
> > Harrison
>
>
>
>
> Mit freundlichen Grüßen
> Werner Stürenburg
>
> --
> MySQL schlägt Microsoft:
> http://www.eweek.com/article/0,3658,s=708&a=23115,00.asp
> __ ___ ___ ____ __
> / |/ /_ __/ __/ __ \/ / Dr.math. W. Stürenburg <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
> / /|_/ / // /\ \/ /_/ / /__ MySQL AB/GmbH, Consultant, Trainer
> /_/ /_/\_, /___/\___\_\___/ Bielefeld, Germany
> <___/ www.mysql.de +49-5224-997-407, GSM +49-172-938 0 238
>
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
hi,
I have the date and time coming from 2 columns of 2 different tables.. What wud be the
easiest way to get the greater of the two ???
so i hv to format the date and time ???
thnx,
sands
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
See
http://www.php.net/manual/en/function.mktime.php
to make unix time stamps from the date/times. It's an integer denoting the
number of seconds that have passed since the Unix Epoch (1/1/1970 0:00).
The greatest integer is the later date/time
Ross
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Sandeep Murphy [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
> Sent: 13 August 2002 16:39
> To: Php-Windows
> Subject: [PHP-WIN] date and time
>
>
> hi,
>
> I have the date and time coming from 2 columns of 2 different
> tables.. What wud be the easiest way to get the greater of the two ???
>
> so i hv to format the date and time ???
>
> thnx,
> sands
>
> --
> PHP Windows Mailing List (http://www.php.net/)
> To unsubscribe, visit: http://www.php.net/unsub.php
>
>
>
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
I am trying to write a function that builds a multiple-choice drop down
list. As such, I need to specify an array in the name attribute of the
<select> tag. I am trying to pass a parameter to the function which gets
used as this name attribute, but seem to be having problems with the square
brackets. In the example below, I would like to submit the $elementname
variable to a function, but can't get it to take the '[' and ']' characters.
My resultant $_POST[] variable is empty. Any hints?
HARD-CODED VERSION
echo "<select name='cgroup_1[]' multiple size='5'>";
echo "<option value = '$chon_group_a[1]'
selected>$chon_group_a[1]</option>";
echo "<option value = '$chon_group_a[2]'>$chon_group_a[2]</option>";
echo "<option value = '$chon_group_a[3]'>$chon_group_a[3]</option>";
echo "<option value = '$chon_group_a[4]'>$chon_group_a[4]</option>";
echo "</select>";
//the $chon_group_a is a locally defined array that does not seem to be
causing any problems
DESIRED FUNCTION VERSION
$elementname="cgroup_1[]";
$elementsarray=$chon_group_a;
PrintOptionBox($elementname,$elementsarray);
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
Surround your variables with {} curly braces.
--
Scott Carr
OpenOffice.org
Documentation Maintainer
http://documentation.openoffice.org/
Quoting Bill Hudspeth <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>:
> I am trying to write a function that builds a multiple-choice drop down
> list. As such, I need to specify an array in the name attribute of the
> <select> tag. I am trying to pass a parameter to the function which gets
> used as this name attribute, but seem to be having problems with the square
> brackets. In the example below, I would like to submit the $elementname
> variable to a function, but can't get it to take the '[' and ']' characters.
> My resultant $_POST[] variable is empty. Any hints?
>
>
>
>
>
> HARD-CODED VERSION
>
>
>
> echo "<select name='cgroup_1[]' multiple size='5'>";
>
> echo "<option value = '$chon_group_a[1]'
> selected>$chon_group_a[1]</option>";
>
> echo "<option value = '$chon_group_a[2]'>$chon_group_a[2]</option>";
>
> echo "<option value = '$chon_group_a[3]'>$chon_group_a[3]</option>";
>
> echo "<option value = '$chon_group_a[4]'>$chon_group_a[4]</option>";
>
> echo "</select>";
>
>
>
> //the $chon_group_a is a locally defined array that does not seem to be
> causing any problems
>
>
>
> DESIRED FUNCTION VERSION
>
>
>
> $elementname="cgroup_1[]";
>
> $elementsarray=$chon_group_a;
>
> PrintOptionBox($elementname,$elementsarray);
>
>
>
>
> --
> PHP Windows Mailing List (http://www.php.net/)
> To unsubscribe, visit: http://www.php.net/unsub.php
>
>
-------------------------------------------------
This mail sent through IMP: http://horde.org/imp/
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
Hey I'm a newbie and have a question about addslashes.
In the databse the field is complete like: Waldemar Brand Neto, but when I get the
field from it the return is trunved like Waldemar. How cam I fix that? Thank´s.
<?php
$nome=addslashes($linha['nome']);
echo "<input name=nome type=text size=60 maxlength=60 value=$nome>";
?>
Result : Waldemar and the correct is: Waldemar Brand Neto
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
Put \"'s around the value=$nome like this:
echo "<input name=nome type=text size=60 maxlength=60 value=\"$nome\">";
-Dash
-----Original Message-----
From: Waldemar Brand Neto [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
Sent: Tuesday, August 13, 2002 12:29 PM
To: PHP Windows
Subject: [PHP-WIN] addslashes
Hey I'm a newbie and have a question about addslashes.
In the databse the field is complete like: Waldemar Brand Neto, but when I
get the field from it the return is trunved like Waldemar. How cam I fix
that? Thank´s.
<?php
$nome=addslashes($linha['nome']);
echo "<input name=nome type=text size=60 maxlength=60 value=$nome>";
?>
Result : Waldemar and the correct is: Waldemar Brand Neto
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
Thank you Dash, now it's working.
----- Original Message -----
From: "dash php" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: "'Waldemar Brand Neto'" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>;
<[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Sent: Tuesday, August 13, 2002 4:27 PM
Subject: RE: [PHP-WIN] addslashes
> Put \"'s around the value=$nome like this:
>
> echo "<input name=nome type=text size=60 maxlength=60 value=\"$nome\">";
>
> -Dash
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Waldemar Brand Neto [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
> Sent: Tuesday, August 13, 2002 12:29 PM
> To: PHP Windows
> Subject: [PHP-WIN] addslashes
>
>
> Hey I'm a newbie and have a question about addslashes.
> In the databse the field is complete like: Waldemar Brand Neto, but when I
> get the field from it the return is trunved like Waldemar. How cam I fix
> that? Thank´s.
>
> <?php
> $nome=addslashes($linha['nome']);
> echo "<input name=nome type=text size=60 maxlength=60 value=$nome>";
> ?>
> Result : Waldemar and the correct is: Waldemar Brand Neto
>
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
How do you post a form without actually waiting for submit button to be pressed? Got
a CGI expecting a form post, all the fields are already available as hidden type in a
form, and just need to be send it.
I know you can use Java as such:
<form method="post" action="CGI.php">
<input type="hidden" name="FName" value="myFirstName">
</form>
<script type="text/javascript">
document.forms[0].submit();
</script>
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
You have answered your own question. It doesn't get any simpler than a
submit from Javascript. Now the question you need to think about is when do
you want the post to occur? Are you going to have then press a link? After
the page loads? After the last piece of data is entered? When you know where
it should occur then just call a Javascript function that issues the
submit() of the form.
Jim
function postForm()
{
document.forms[0].submit();
}
-------Original Message-------
From: GeneralX
Date: Tuesday, August 13, 2002 12:40:45
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: [PHP-WIN] Form Posting from script
How do you post a form without actually waiting for submit button to be
pressed? Got a CGI expecting a form post, all the fields are already
available as hidden type in a form, and just need to be send it.
I know you can use Java as such:
<form method="post" action="CGI.php">
<input type="hidden" name="FName" value="myFirstName">
</form>
<script type="text/javascript">
document.forms[0].submit();
</script>
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
Once a user has submitted all info, my action page confirms the inputs then sends out
confirmation email and to the CGI requiring the info for processing.
Problem is that I can't get the Java to work with PHP4.
I don't have JDK.
php.ini
----------
extension=php_java.dll
[Java]
java.class.path = .\java\php_java.jar
;java.home = c:\jdk
;java.library = c:\jdk\jre\bin\hotspot\jvm.dll
;java.library.path = .\
----- Original Message -----
From: Jim Hunter
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED] ; [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Sent: Tuesday, August 13, 2002 2:51 PM
Subject: Re: [PHP-WIN] Form Posting from script
You have answered your own question. It doesn't get any simpler than a submit
from Javascript. Now the question you need to think about is when do you want the post
to occur? Are you going to have then press a link? After the page loads? After the
last piece of data is entered? When you know where it should occur then just call a
Javascript function that issues the submit() of the form.
Jim
function postForm()
{
document.forms[0].submit();
}
-------Original Message-------
From: GeneralX
Date: Tuesday, August 13, 2002 12:40:45
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: [PHP-WIN] Form Posting from script
How do you post a form without actually waiting for submit button to be
pressed? Got a CGI expecting a form post, all the fields are already available as
hidden type in a form, and just need to be send it.
I know you can use Java as such:
<form method="post" action="CGI.php">
<input type="hidden" name="FName" value="myFirstName">
</form>
<script type="text/javascript">
document.forms[0].submit();
</script>
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
The solution I provided does not require Java. Java and Javascript are
similar in name only. Javascript is built into the browsers that will be
displaying your page. All you need to do in PHP is produce the HTML for your
client to use. Part of the HTML will be a Javascript function to post the
form. If you are concerned that Javascript is not active in the browser that
will be viewing your page, there are hundreds of quick ways in DHTML to
determine this and display a message to the user stating that your page will
not function properly if Javascript is disabled. What is sometimes hard to
remember is that the PHP that you are writing is not going to be seen by
your user, all they see is the HTML that you produce with your PHP. Think of
Javascript and HTML as one in the same (I know their not but you produce
them the same using ECHO commands).
Jim
-------Original Message-------
From: GeneralX
Date: Tuesday, August 13, 2002 14:20:16
To: Jim Hunter; [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: Re: [PHP-WIN] Form Posting from script
Once a user has submitted all info, my action page confirms the inputs then
sends out confirmation email and to the CGI requiring the info for
processing.
Problem is that I can't get the Java to work with PHP4.
I don't have JDK.
php.ini
----------
extension=php_java.dll
[Java]
java.class.path = .\java\php_java.jar
;java.home = c:\jdk
;java.library = c:\jdk\jre\bin\hotspot\jvm.dll
;java.library.path = .\
----- Original Message -----
From: Jim Hunter
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED] ; [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Sent: Tuesday, August 13, 2002 2:51 PM
Subject: Re: [PHP-WIN] Form Posting from script
You have answered your own question. It doesn't get any simpler than a
submit from Javascript. Now the question you need to think about is when do
you want the post to occur? Are you going to have then press a link? After
the page loads? After the last piece of data is entered? When you know where
it should occur then just call a Javascript function that issues the
submit() of the form.
Jim
function postForm()
{
document.forms[0].submit();
}
-------Original Message-------
From: GeneralX
Date: Tuesday, August 13, 2002 12:40:45
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: [PHP-WIN] Form Posting from script
How do you post a form without actually waiting for submit button to be
pressed? Got a CGI expecting a form post, all the fields are already
available as hidden type in a form, and just need to be send it.
I know you can use Java as such:
<form method="post" action="CGI.php">
<input type="hidden" name="FName" value="myFirstName">
</form>
<script type="text/javascript">
document.forms[0].submit();
</script>
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
Great!!! It works!!!
TTTTThanks!!!
----- Original Message -----
From: Jim Hunter
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED] ; [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Sent: Tuesday, August 13, 2002 5:07 PM
Subject: Re: [PHP-WIN] Form Posting from script
The solution I provided does not require Java. Java and Javascript are similar
in name only. Javascript is built into the browsers that will be displaying your page.
All you need to do in PHP is produce the HTML for your client to use. Part of the HTML
will be a Javascript function to post the form. If you are concerned that Javascript
is not active in the browser that will be viewing your page, there are hundreds of
quick ways in DHTML to determine this and display a message to the user stating that
your page will not function properly if Javascript is disabled. What is sometimes hard
to remember is that the PHP that you are writing is not going to be seen by your user,
all they see is the HTML that you produce with your PHP. Think of Javascript and HTML
as one in the same (I know their not but you produce them the same using ECHO
commands).
Jim
-------Original Message-------
From: GeneralX
Date: Tuesday, August 13, 2002 14:20:16
To: Jim Hunter; [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: Re: [PHP-WIN] Form Posting from script
Once a user has submitted all info, my action page confirms the inputs then
sends out confirmation email and to the CGI requiring the info for processing.
Problem is that I can't get the Java to work with PHP4.
I don't have JDK.
php.ini
----------
extension=php_java.dll
[Java]
java.class.path = .\java\php_java.jar
;java.home = c:\jdk
;java.library = c:\jdk\jre\bin\hotspot\jvm.dll
;java.library.path = .\
----- Original Message -----
From: Jim Hunter
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED] ; [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Sent: Tuesday, August 13, 2002 2:51 PM
Subject: Re: [PHP-WIN] Form Posting from script
You have answered your own question. It doesn't get any simpler than a submit
from Javascript. Now the question you need to think about is when do you want the post
to occur? Are you going to have then press a link? After the page loads? After the
last piece of data is entered? When you know where it should occur then just call a
Javascript function that issues the submit() of the form.
Jim
function postForm()
{
document.forms[0].submit();
}
-------Original Message-------
From: GeneralX
Date: Tuesday, August 13, 2002 12:40:45
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: [PHP-WIN] Form Posting from script
How do you post a form without actually waiting for submit button to be
pressed? Got a CGI expecting a form post, all the fields are already available as
hidden type in a form, and just need to be send it.
I know you can use Java as such:
<form method="post" action="CGI.php">
<input type="hidden" name="FName" value="myFirstName">
</form>
<script type="text/javascript">
document.forms[0].submit();
</script>
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
I am very new at this...
I want to use the mail funtion, but instead of using an actual e-mail address for the
first argument, I want to pass it a variable that I have assigned to the resulting
return of a function. The fuction ends like this :
function get_useremail {...
$query_data = mysql_fetch_row($result);
return $query_data[0];
}
I then assigned the function to a variable:
$retrieveuseremail = get_useremail ($username, $userid);
WHEN I TRY TO USE $retrieveuseremail AS THE FIRST ARGUMENT IN THE MAIL FUNCTION, I GET
AN ERROR MESSAGE :
Failed to receive in 'C:ThePathToTheDocument'
CAN I PASS A VARIABLE HERE?
Marlene
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
Yes you can. Check you're getting a valid email address in the variable
$retrieveuseremail, try echoing it before the mail() function:
echo $retrieveuseremail;
mail($retrieveuseremail, "Subject", "Body of email");
Ross
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Marlene Burckhalter [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
> Sent: 13 August 2002 21:27
> To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
> Subject: [PHP-WIN] mail() function
>
>
> I am very new at this...
>
> I want to use the mail funtion, but instead of using an actual
> e-mail address for the first argument, I want to pass it a
> variable that I have assigned to the resulting return of a
> function. The fuction ends like this :
>
> function get_useremail {...
>
> $query_data = mysql_fetch_row($result);
> return $query_data[0];
> }
>
> I then assigned the function to a variable:
>
> $retrieveuseremail = get_useremail ($username, $userid);
>
> WHEN I TRY TO USE $retrieveuseremail AS THE FIRST ARGUMENT IN THE
> MAIL FUNCTION, I GET AN ERROR MESSAGE :
> Failed to receive in 'C:ThePathToTheDocument'
>
> CAN I PASS A VARIABLE HERE?
>
> Marlene
>
>
>
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
Hello everyone id like to know if theres a way to connect to mysql via
proxy ... I really need to !! ....
Any tip or help would be very useful !!
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
I am in the early stages of learning PHP as an alternative to ASP. I am
using MySQL and need a beginning nudge. If anyone has the time, could you
please convert the following basic code block into pure PHP/MySQL minus all
the MS bits? It's a very simple example I know but the principles would
help me to understand some things that are not sinking in right now. Thank
you!
<%
strConnection = "driver={MySQL ODBC 3.51
Driver};server=localhost;user=username;"
strConnection = strConnection & "pwd=demo;database=mysql450"
Set objConn = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
objConn.Open strConnection
strSQL = "SELECT * FROM categories"
Set objRS = objConn.Execute(strSQL)
Do While Not objRS.EOF
Response.Write objRS("categoryid") & ", "
Response.Write objRS("catdescription") & ", "
Response.Write objRS("catimage") & "<br>"
objRS.MoveNext
Loop
objRS.Close
Set objRS = Nothing
objConn.Close
Set objConn = Nothing
%>
David
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
"Kit Kerbel" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message
[EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]...
> I would like to convert 2002-04-02 00:00:00 to the format,
> 04-02-2002....or m/d/Y
>
> How would I do this?
>
> Thanx in advance,
> Kit
>
>
>
> _________________________________________________________________
> Chat with friends online, try MSN Messenger: http://messenger.msn.com
>
Hi.
There are two ways you can do this:
1) Extract it from the database, and then use explode(); on the data.
2) If you're using MySQL as your database, you can use the DATE_FORMAT
function within MySQL to format it.
--- End Message ---