php-windows Digest 14 May 2002 05:50:00 -0000 Issue 1143

Topics (messages 13720 through 13738):

Sessions under PHP 4.2
        13720 by: R.S. Herhuth
        13721 by: Stuart Dallas
        13722 by: brother

Win2k + PHP + dynamic disk mirroring
        13723 by: Stuart Dallas

Re: mail() problem
        13724 by: Peter

how do I access variables passed in a URL?
        13725 by: R.S. Herhuth
        13727 by: Jason Soza
        13728 by: George Nicolae
        13729 by: Robin Bolton
        13731 by: R.S. Herhuth
        13732 by: George Nicolae
        13733 by: toby z

php_gd.dll and Windows XP
        13726 by: Alan Hale
        13730 by: Jeff Waldock
        13734 by: toby z

how do I get a user name?
        13735 by: Mauricio
        13736 by: Stuart Dallas
        13738 by: toby z

Problems with globals on php 4.0.6/IIS 4
        13737 by: Jan Erik Dyve

Administrivia:

To subscribe to the digest, e-mail:
        [EMAIL PROTECTED]

To unsubscribe from the digest, e-mail:
        [EMAIL PROTECTED]

To post to the list, e-mail:
        [EMAIL PROTECTED]


----------------------------------------------------------------------
--- Begin Message ---

I know this has been discussed before but I'm having trouble finding
anything that outlines it.

I installed 4.2 and I want to use sessions with the "stock
configuration."  I tried this but it doesn't work...what should I be
doing different?


Page 1 ---------

<? 
start_session();
session_register("testVar");

$testVar = "This variable has been successfully registered";

?>


Page 2 ---------

<? 
start_session();

echo $_session["testVar"];

?>



thanks,
Ron
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
R.S. Herhuth <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:
> I installed 4.2 and I want to use sessions with the "stock
> configuration."  I tried this but it doesn't work...what should I be
> doing different?

In what way? What error do you get?

-- 
Stuart

--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
> -----Original Message-----
> From: R.S. Herhuth [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]] 
> Page 2 ---------
> 
> <? 
> start_session();
> 
> echo $_session["testVar"];
> 
> ?>

echo $_SESSION["testVar"];

Would be better I think (variables in php are casesensitive, I've learned it
through $_GET last week=))

/brother
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
Is anyone running PHP on Win2k with dynamic disk mirroring? If so, have you had any 
problems with it?

I have a problem where include files are being corrupted somewhere between the disk 
and PHP and it's causing huge problems. The only difference between this server and 
the other servers we have running PHP is the dynamic disk mirroring. We'd seen it a 
couple of times on other sites we host, but we've recently installed ezPublish and 
it's become almost constant. For an example, go to http://www.gurn.to/ - if you get an 
error on the page, simply hit refresh until it goes away (sometimes it doesn't). That 
will show just how random it is.

We are not experiencing any other filesystem problems on that server. We don't want to 
disable the mirroring without being pretty sure it will solve the problem.

All experiences/insights, good and bad, are appreciated.

-- 
Stuart
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
Check to see how many copies of php.ini are on your system. Although it
shouldn't affect the module version, the php.ini in the c:\php (or whatever)
folder is read by the CGI executable instead of the one in c:\windows


<[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message
[EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]...
> Try to put SMTP from your ISP, like: smtp.isp.com in the php.ini and try
then...
>
> I run Win XP with PHP and it works OK!
>
> Good luck
>
> Alex
>
> >----- Original Message -----
> >From: "Tomator" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
> >Date: Friday, May 10, 2002 1:52 pm
> >Subject: [PHP-WIN] mail() problem
> >
> >> When I try to use mail() function I see warning "Unknown error in
> >> line...".
> >> I'm using WinXP with PHP as Apache's module and have PHP.INI in
> >> C:\winnt,where is the line "SMTP = my.addres". However phpinfo()
> >> ALWAYS tells that
> >> SMTP is "localhost". I can change thist only with ini_set(), but
> >> it doesn't
> >> fix my problem - I can't send any e-mail from my PHP!
> >>
> >> How to do this??
> >
> >
> >--
> >PHP Windows Mailing List (http://www.php.net/)
> >To unsubscribe, visit: http://www.php.net/unsub.php
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >--
> >PHP Windows Mailing List (http://www.php.net/)
> >To unsubscribe, visit: http://www.php.net/unsub.php
> >
>


--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---

I have the Globals turned off and I'm trying to figure out which array
will alow me to access varibales passed in the URL:

Example:

<a href="test.php?testVar=myValue">next page</a>


What array with the variable "testVar" show up in?

Thanks,
Ron
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
Use $HTTP_GET_VARS['testVar'] or $_GET['testVar'] - $_GET[] is 
preferred as $HTTP_GET_VARS[] is deprecated.

http://www.php.net/manual/fi/language.variables.predefined.php

Jason Soza

----- Original Message -----
From: "R.S. Herhuth" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Date: Monday, May 13, 2002 9:16 am
Subject: [PHP-WIN] how do I access variables passed in a URL?

> 
> I have the Globals turned off and I'm trying to figure out which array
> will alow me to access varibales passed in the URL:
> 
> Example:
> 
> next page
> 
> 
> What array with the variable "testVar" show up in?
> 
> Thanks,
> Ron
> 
> -- 
> PHP Windows Mailing List (http://www.php.net/)
> To unsubscribe, visit: http://www.php.net/unsub.php
> 
> 

--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
RTFM......;-)

--


Best regards,
George Nicolae
IT Manager
___________________
PaginiWeb.com  - Professional Web Design
www.PaginiWeb.com


"R.S. Herhuth" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message
[EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]...
>
> I have the Globals turned off and I'm trying to figure out which array
> will alow me to access varibales passed in the URL:
>
> Example:
>
> <a href="test.php?testVar=myValue">next page</a>
>
>
> What array with the variable "testVar" show up in?
>
> Thanks,
> Ron


--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
George,
I'm sure that if Ron had wanted such constructive input as that offered by
yourself he wouldn't have bothered asking.

Frankly, my inbox is already too busy being part of the PHP-WIN list, the
last thing we need is a bunch of noise that doesn't actually contribute to
the conversation. If you insist on offering such valuable insights in the
future, please don't post them to the entire forum, these types of messages
serve no purpose.

Due to the nature of this mailing list, we tend to get a lot of newbie-type
questions that some of us may have already seen 100 times, that doesn't mean
the answer is any less important to the 100th person to ask than the 1st
person.

One thing that should possibly be considered to help reduce the amount of
repeated questions would be to send a PHP-WIN FAQ to every new subscriber
detailing the most commonly sought solutions (eg. how come mail() doesn't
work. That way when we get a question that we're all sick to death of
answering, we can simply point to the relevant section of the FAQ.

If this is something that others feel would be benificial, I would be more
than willing to begin compilation of the FAQ.


-----Original Message-----
From: George Nicolae [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
Sent: May 13, 2002 12:15
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: [PHP-WIN] Re: how do I access variables passed in a URL?


RTFM......;-)

--


Best regards,
George Nicolae
IT Manager
___________________
PaginiWeb.com  - Professional Web Design
www.PaginiWeb.com


"R.S. Herhuth" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message
[EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]...
>
> I have the Globals turned off and I'm trying to figure out which array
> will alow me to access varibales passed in the URL:
>
> Example:
>
> <a href="test.php?testVar=myValue">next page</a>
>
>
> What array with the variable "testVar" show up in?
>
> Thanks,
> Ron



--
PHP Windows Mailing List (http://www.php.net/)
To unsubscribe, visit: http://www.php.net/unsub.php


--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---

In my defense, I did read the page but I was unaware that passing a
variable as part of a URL string was considered a GET action.  Had I
known that I would have been able to figure it out.

You learn something new everyday.

Ron




Robin Bolton wrote:
> 
> George,
> I'm sure that if Ron had wanted such constructive input as that offered by
> yourself he wouldn't have bothered asking.
> 
> Frankly, my inbox is already too busy being part of the PHP-WIN list, the
> last thing we need is a bunch of noise that doesn't actually contribute to
> the conversation. If you insist on offering such valuable insights in the
> future, please don't post them to the entire forum, these types of messages
> serve no purpose.
> 
> Due to the nature of this mailing list, we tend to get a lot of newbie-type
> questions that some of us may have already seen 100 times, that doesn't mean
> the answer is any less important to the 100th person to ask than the 1st
> person.
> 
> One thing that should possibly be considered to help reduce the amount of
> repeated questions would be to send a PHP-WIN FAQ to every new subscriber
> detailing the most commonly sought solutions (eg. how come mail() doesn't
> work. That way when we get a question that we're all sick to death of
> answering, we can simply point to the relevant section of the FAQ.
> 
> If this is something that others feel would be benificial, I would be more
> than willing to begin compilation of the FAQ.
> 
> -----Original Message-----
> From: George Nicolae [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
> Sent: May 13, 2002 12:15
> To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
> Subject: [PHP-WIN] Re: how do I access variables passed in a URL?
> 
> RTFM......;-)
> 
> --
> 
> Best regards,
> George Nicolae
> IT Manager
> ___________________
> PaginiWeb.com  - Professional Web Design
> www.PaginiWeb.com
> 
> "R.S. Herhuth" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message
> [EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]...
> >
> > I have the Globals turned off and I'm trying to figure out which array
> > will alow me to access varibales passed in the URL:
> >
> > Example:
> >
> > <a href="test.php?testVar=myValue">next page</a>
> >
> >
> > What array with the variable "testVar" show up in?
> >
> > Thanks,
> > Ron
> 
> --
> PHP Windows Mailing List (http://www.php.net/)
> To unsubscribe, visit: http://www.php.net/unsub.php
> 
> --
> PHP Windows Mailing List (http://www.php.net/)
> To unsubscribe, visit: http://www.php.net/unsub.php
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
I don't want to be malicious. But,.... when you have a question what is the
first place where you search? In my opinion? The Manual!
I'm not guilty for your busy inbox, newbies are and they must be taught..
--


Best regards,
George Nicolae
IT Manager
___________________
PaginiWeb.com  - Professional Web Design
www.PaginiWeb.com


"Robin Bolton" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message
[EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]...
> George,
> I'm sure that if Ron had wanted such constructive input as that offered by
> yourself he wouldn't have bothered asking.
>
> Frankly, my inbox is already too busy being part of the PHP-WIN list, the
> last thing we need is a bunch of noise that doesn't actually contribute to
> the conversation. If you insist on offering such valuable insights in the
> future, please don't post them to the entire forum, these types of
messages
> serve no purpose.
>
> Due to the nature of this mailing list, we tend to get a lot of
newbie-type
> questions that some of us may have already seen 100 times, that doesn't
mean
> the answer is any less important to the 100th person to ask than the 1st
> person.
>
> One thing that should possibly be considered to help reduce the amount of
> repeated questions would be to send a PHP-WIN FAQ to every new subscriber
> detailing the most commonly sought solutions (eg. how come mail() doesn't
> work. That way when we get a question that we're all sick to death of
> answering, we can simply point to the relevant section of the FAQ.
>
> If this is something that others feel would be benificial, I would be more
> than willing to begin compilation of the FAQ.
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: George Nicolae [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
> Sent: May 13, 2002 12:15
> To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
> Subject: [PHP-WIN] Re: how do I access variables passed in a URL?
>
>
> RTFM......;-)
>
> --
>
>
> Best regards,
> George Nicolae
> IT Manager
> ___________________
> PaginiWeb.com  - Professional Web Design
> www.PaginiWeb.com
>
>
> "R.S. Herhuth" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message
> [EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]...
> >
> > I have the Globals turned off and I'm trying to figure out which array
> > will alow me to access varibales passed in the URL:
> >
> > Example:
> >
> > <a href="test.php?testVar=myValue">next page</a>
> >
> >
> > What array with the variable "testVar" show up in?
> >
> > Thanks,
> > Ron
>
>
>
> --
> PHP Windows Mailing List (http://www.php.net/)
> To unsubscribe, visit: http://www.php.net/unsub.php
>
>


--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
 mmmm .....

robin ..... i appreciate ur reply .... ++ ur generous
offer .... n i'd
b really gratefull if ud start dat ....

:$ .... coz i ask the dumbest questionz of all .... :$
.....


toby .......

__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
LAUNCH - Your Yahoo! Music Experience
http://launch.yahoo.com
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
I've recently upgraded to XP Pro from Windows Me. I previously had PHP
running with the gd extension on Omnihttpd server, but found with the same
configuration gd would not work (Error messages: First: " The procedure
entry point add_assoc_long could not be located in the dll php4ts.dll" Then:
"Unable to locate dll 'c:\httpd\php\php_gd.dll' - the specified procedure
could not be found".

I've also tried installing with Easywindows on IIS - again, gd does not work
(though no helpful error messages).

So I'm coming to the conclusion there some incompatability between XP and
the php_gd.dll. Does anyone have this working on XP? Can anyone suggest how
I can fix this? 

Many thanks

Alan Hale

--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
Alan
I think the dll has been re-named to php_gd2.dll.  Just rename the
extension in your php.ini to this and re-start the web server and you
should find it works.
Jeff

|-----Original Message-----
|From: Alan Hale [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]] 
|Sent: 13 May 2002 18:24
|To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
|Subject: [PHP-WIN] php_gd.dll and Windows XP
|
|
|I've recently upgraded to XP Pro from Windows Me. I previously 
|had PHP running with the gd extension on Omnihttpd server, but 
|found with the same configuration gd would not work (Error 
|messages: First: " The procedure entry point add_assoc_long 
|could not be located in the dll php4ts.dll" Then: "Unable to 
|locate dll 'c:\httpd\php\php_gd.dll' - the specified procedure 
|could not be found".
|
|I've also tried installing with Easywindows on IIS - again, gd 
|does not work (though no helpful error messages).
|
|So I'm coming to the conclusion there some incompatability 
|between XP and the php_gd.dll. Does anyone have this working 
|on XP? Can anyone suggest how I can fix this? 
|
|Many thanks
|
|Alan Hale
|
|

--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
alan ....

im workin with php on xp ... iis 5 .... its workin
fine ....

y dont u re-install php from the scratch .....
edit its php.ini .... and the works .... 

dont foget to move your own files somevere else
.....first !!!!

visit :

http://www.umesd.k12.or.us/php/win32install.html

you'll find all information u need fo configuring n
stuff here .....

hope it works fo u .....

good luck ....

toby ....

__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
LAUNCH - Your Yahoo! Music Experience
http://launch.yahoo.com
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
I am using apaches' authentication.
How do i do for get user name and password in PHP?

Thanks for all.


--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
On 13 May 2002 at 17:21, Mauricio wrote:
> I am using apaches' authentication.
> How do i do for get user name and password in PHP?

PHP 4.1.x or later: $_SERVER['PHP_AUTH_USER'] and $_SERVER['PHP_AUTH_PW']

Earlier PHP: $PHP_AUTH_USER and $PHP_AUTH_PW

-- 
Stuart
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---

anyone know how to do that for  iis .... ?????

or does the same thing works for it too ?????

plz do let me know ....

thnx a billion ....

toby.....




On 13 May 2002 at 17:21, Mauricio wrote:
> I am using apaches' authentication.
> How do i do for get user name and password in PHP?


 > PHP 4.1.x or later: $_SERVER['PHP_AUTH_USER'] and
> $_SERVER['PHP_AUTH_PW']
> 
> Earlier PHP: $PHP_AUTH_USER and $PHP_AUTH_PW
> 
> -- 
> Stuart





__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
LAUNCH - Your Yahoo! Music Experience
http://launch.yahoo.com
--- End Message ---
--- Begin Message ---
Hi,

I have a problem with global variables on a NT 4 system with IIS 4 and php
4.0.6 (cgi). I try to set a global variable inside a function with the
following code,

$GLOBALS[$varname]=$varvalue

but this doesn't work. The same code works on w2k with iis 5.0 and the same
php.ini, so I don't think it is anything wrong with the php configuration.

Anyone experienced the same problem, or perhaps a solution or tip?


Jan Erik



--- End Message ---

Reply via email to