php-windows Digest 24 Oct 2001 22:44:23 -0000 Issue 820
Topics (messages 9988 through 10005): Re: MSSQL 7.0 and PHP 9988 by: Carlos Andre Marques Moreira Re: It gives me just a header! 9989 by: Björn Lantz 9993 by: Jason Wood php_crypt.dll 9990 by: Michal Krawczyk Re: ADODB and using Workstation ID (odbc) 9991 by: Marko Mail and NT 9992 by: Joseph Koenig 9994 by: DL Neil 9995 by: Tony Leach 9997 by: FPU.WHITES1.FRIENDSPROVIDENT.CO.UK Trouble Loading FDF library 9996 by: Karen Siefken Session management issues 9998 by: Jason McIntyre Redirecting to a new php file 9999 by: Sridhar Moparthy 10000 by: Flint Doungchak Dlls 10001 by: Karen Siefken 10002 by: Josh Seward Search Engine Problem 10003 by: Mark Sweeney Sendmail... 10004 by: Ross Fleming 10005 by: Ross Fleming Administrivia: To subscribe to the digest, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED] To unsubscribe from the digest, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED] To post to the list, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED] ----------------------------------------------------------------------
I've seen this problem here before. Some guys posted this is a problem in the mssql.dll, don't know if this has been fixed. I had this problem here before, and i "fixed" it changing data type to TEXT Carlos André -----Original Message----- From: Franco Breciano [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]] Sent: quarta-feira, 24 de outubro de 2001 00:02 To: [EMAIL PROTECTED] Subject: MSSQL 7.0 and PHP I'm using php to retrieve a Query from a SQLServer 7.0 database. My code is this one: $base = mssql_select_db($db,$conexion); $sql="SELECT MarcasSolicitante FROM Marcas"; $result = mssql_query($sql,$conexion); while ($myrow = mssql_fetch_array($result)) { $mensaje= $myrow["MarcasSolicitante"]; ?> <p><strong><font size="4"><u>Mensaje:</u></strong>    </u> <font size="3"><?echo $mensaje;?> </font></a></P> <hr> <....> <....> The problem is that the field MarcasSolicitante in the database is VarChar(7000), and php receives a Char(255), what I'm I doing wrong? Isi there any parameter I can modify in order to retrieve correctly the fields?? Thanks in advance
Have you copied the php.ini-dist to c:\windows\php.ini ? If not, your php might not aloow the 'short-tags' "<?" and "?>", but requires "<?php". /Björn "StefáN Vignir SkarphéðInsson" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message [EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]... > Thanks for trying to help :) > If my server (xitami) would not run php it would send me the page including > the php source code. > > This happens even if I try to execute a script as simple as > <? print ("blah blah blah") ?> > > Jason Wood <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message > [EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]... > > It means that either PHP is not running, or there's a parse error on the > > page and you dont have the error handling set. > > > > > > -- > > Jason Wood > > Chief Technology Officer > > Expressive Tek, Inc. > > 407 Kehrs Mill Road > > Ballwin, MO 63011 > > Phone 636.256.1362 > > www.expressivetek.com > > > > > > > > "StefáN Vingir SkarphéðInsson" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message > > [EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]... > > > Hello folks! > > > > > > I was trying to execute a PHP script (on Win98) but it came only this > > source > > > code from my server: > > > > > > <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN"> > > > <HTML><HEAD> > > > <META http-equiv=Content-Type content="text/html; > > > charset=windows-1252"></HEAD> > > > <BODY></BODY></HTML> > > > > > > This happens to all the scripts I try to execute both from my server and > > > using MS-DOS-Prompt (php webpage.php) it returns nothing > > > > > > What's wrong? > > > Please help! > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > >
Hmm... That always happened to me when I was working on a win2k machine with IIS... I'd have a parse error, and the hosting company had all error handling set off... so every time i had a parse error, i'd have to download the file, update my local database, and check out the file... fix it... and reupload it. Such a pain in the butt =) If that's not it, i've got no idea. Sorry! Jason "StefáN Vignir SkarphéðInsson" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message [EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]... > Thanks for trying to help :) > If my server (xitami) would not run php it would send me the page including > the php source code. > > This happens even if I try to execute a script as simple as > <? print ("blah blah blah") ?> > > Jason Wood <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message > [EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]... > > It means that either PHP is not running, or there's a parse error on the > > page and you dont have the error handling set. > > > > > > -- > > Jason Wood > > Chief Technology Officer > > Expressive Tek, Inc. > > 407 Kehrs Mill Road > > Ballwin, MO 63011 > > Phone 636.256.1362 > > www.expressivetek.com > > > > > > > > "StefáN Vingir SkarphéðInsson" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message > > [EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]... > > > Hello folks! > > > > > > I was trying to execute a PHP script (on Win98) but it came only this > > source > > > code from my server: > > > > > > <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN"> > > > <HTML><HEAD> > > > <META http-equiv=Content-Type content="text/html; > > > charset=windows-1252"></HEAD> > > > <BODY></BODY></HTML> > > > > > > This happens to all the scripts I try to execute both from my server and > > > using MS-DOS-Prompt (php webpage.php) it returns nothing > > > > > > What's wrong? > > > Please help! > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > >
Does anyone have this library? I would be very pleasure for it because I can't find it. Thanks in advance, Michal Krawczyk
"SøRen Nielsen" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message [EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]... > Can it be done with odbc ? > I have tried and tried but nothing seems to work. > Does anyone know if the Workstation ID can be set if i connect with odbc ? > > Best regards, > Soeren Nielsen > I tried to do it at home (PWS and PHP4) and it worked. I used Windows' ODBC administration tool to create an Access driven database. In php code i used the following commands: $db=odbc_connect("<DSN>","<username>","<password>"); followed by $ersult=odbc_exec($db,"select * from........"); and it worked. But, when i tried in school on win2k server, i got the following error on odbc_connect(): Warning: SQL error: , SQL state 00000 in SQLConnect in c:\inetpub\wwwroot\Ban\php\odbc.php on line 2 Can anyone help?
Hi, I'm developing a site on a NT box (I'm much more familiar with unix) and am unable to get mail to send on NT. I've edited the php.ini file so that SMTP = gatekeeper, which is the name of the server. That's all I saw in the manual and archives that would need to be changed. They have Exchange running on that server. is it possible exchange is running as a name other than 'gatekeeper', even though that's the name of the server? Their admin says it is running as gatekeeper, but I'd like to ensure that it really is. How do I check that, and if that's fine, what else should I look at to get this working? Please CC me as I am not on the win list. Thanks a lot, Joe
> I'm developing a site on a NT box (I'm much more familiar with unix) and > am unable to get mail to send on NT. I've edited the php.ini file so > that SMTP = gatekeeper, which is the name of the server. That's all I > saw in the manual and archives that would need to be changed. They have > Exchange running on that server. is it possible exchange is running as a > name other than 'gatekeeper', even though that's the name of the server? > Their admin says it is running as gatekeeper, but I'd like to ensure > that it really is. How do I check that, and if that's fine, what else > should I look at to get this working? Please CC me as I am not on the > win list. Thanks a lot, Joe, Is there a confusion here between the machine-name of the server, and the name of the email/SMTP server? PHP needs the latter, which most would call SMTP.IPdomain.name.TLD. =dn
If it's on the same box, have you tried just 'localhost' ? -----Original Message----- From: Joseph Koenig [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]] Sent: 24 October 2001 16:54 To: [EMAIL PROTECTED] Subject: [PHP-WIN] Mail and NT Hi, I'm developing a site on a NT box (I'm much more familiar with unix) and am unable to get mail to send on NT. I've edited the php.ini file so that SMTP = gatekeeper, which is the name of the server. That's all I saw in the manual and archives that would need to be changed. They have Exchange running on that server. is it possible exchange is running as a name other than 'gatekeeper', even though that's the name of the server? Their admin says it is running as gatekeeper, but I'd like to ensure that it really is. How do I check that, and if that's fine, what else should I look at to get this working? Please CC me as I am not on the win list. Thanks a lot, Joe -- PHP Windows Mailing List (http://www.php.net/) To unsubscribe, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED] For additional commands, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED] To contact the list administrators, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED] ================================ WordWrap Web Development Limited t +44 (0) 131 555 3535 f +44 (0) 870 135 3656 m +44 (0) 7768 626588 ================================
--- Received from FPU.WHITES1 799 3703 24-10-01 17:00 -> [EMAIL PROTECTED] -> [EMAIL PROTECTED] Is the Exchange server presenting an SMTP/Sendmail server interface? Last time I played with exchange (a couple of years ago) it had its own protocol for talking to the email clients and only presented an SMTP connection if you specifically set one up. Yes I know it's a crap idea having it optional but that's microsoft for you... -Steve -----Original Message----- From: Joseph Koenig [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]] Sent: 24 October 2001 16:54 To: [EMAIL PROTECTED] Subject: [PHP-WIN] Mail and NT Hi, I'm developing a site on a NT box (I'm much more familiar with unix) and am unable to get mail to send on NT. I've edited the php.ini file so that SMTP = gatekeeper, which is the name of the server. That's all I saw in the manual and archives that would need to be changed. They have Exchange running on that server. is it possible exchange is running as a name other than 'gatekeeper', even though that's the name of the server? Their admin says it is running as gatekeeper, but I'd like to ensure that it really is. How do I check that, and if that's fine, what else should I look at to get this working? Please CC me as I am not on the win list. Thanks a lot, Joe -- PHP Windows Mailing List (http://www.php.net/) To unsubscribe, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED] For additional commands, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED] To contact the list administrators, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED] This e-mail may contain confidential information and/or copyright material. This e-mail is intended for the use of the addressee only. Any unauthorised use may be unlawful. If you receive this e-mail by mistake please advise the sender immediately by using the reply facility in your e-mail software. Friends Provident Marketing Group consists of the following companies: Friends Provident Life and Pensions Limited. Registered number 4096141. Friends' Provident Unit Trust Managers Limited. Registered number 970641 FP Life Assurance Limited. Registered number 782698 Friends Provident Pensions Limited. Registered number 475201 Friends Ivory & Sime Managed Pensions Funds Limited. Registered number 1020044 Registered and Head Office of each of the above companies is at Pixham End, Dorking, Surrey RH4 1QA. Registered in England. Incorporated companies limited by shares. Ivory & Sime Trustlink Limited. Registered number 151198 Registered and Head Office: One Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2 4DZ. Registered in Scotland. Incorporated company limited by shares. Companies within this Group transact life assurance, pension, permanent health, unit trust and investment trust business All are regulated by the Personal Investment Authority. Friends' Provident Unit Trust Managers Limited is also regulated by IMRO.
Hi I'm on IIS5/W2K and I am having trouble using FDF functions. In my ini file extension_dir = C:\PHP\extensions I uncommented the extension=php_fdf.dll in the list of windows extensions. I am using a virtual web folder to test my scripts. /iaphp on my local disc it's C:\iaphp I copied the adobe fdf toolkit files : Fdftk.dll, FDfTk.h and FDFTK.LIB to C:\iaphp When I open phpinfo() FDf is enabled. I have one PDF document on my local disc in a folder other than my virtual web folder. I open with ie fill out the form and submit to a test script. I works. But when I save the file on my web browser folder, browse the site, open the same file, fill it and submit it I get "Unable to load dynamic library 'C:\PHP\extensions/php_fdf.dll' - The specified module could not be found." So, does anybody know what I'm doing wrong!? Thanks! Karen
Hi there: I am using PHP 4+ and MySQL to manage access to secured areas on a website. My problem is that my session functions don't seem to be working properly. Even after I start and register a session variable, my function to check that session variable says that it doesn't exist. Help! Here are the scripts: Login page: <? require_once("db_con.php"); -creates the database connection require_once("user_auth.php"); - authenticates user in database session_start(); if($txtUsername && $txtPassword) { $result = login($txtUsername, $txtPassword); if (!$result) { header("Location: loginerror.php"); } else { session_start(); session_register("valid_user"); $valid_user = $result; - this passes in the unique id of the person who logged in. header("Location: ../memberso/default.php?idccacon=".$valid_user); } exit; } ?> --------------------------------- Now if the user exists it opens the ...default.php page, which has this code ... <? require_once("valid_user.php"); check_valid_user(); - which is in the valid_user.php This is the function that is called. <? function check_valid_user() { global $valid_user; if (!session_is_registered("valid_user")) header("Location: ../secure/accesserror.php"); } ?> thx! Jason
Hi All, Is there any command in PHP that redirects to a php file from another php file? If not does any one know how to implement this functionality? Thank you, Sridhar Moparthy
Header("Location: newlocation.php"); -----Original Message----- From: Sridhar Moparthy [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]] Sent: Wednesday, October 24, 2001 11:52 AM To: Php-Windows (E-mail); Php-General (E-mail) Subject: [PHP-WIN] Redirecting to a new php file Hi All, Is there any command in PHP that redirects to a php file from another php file? If not does any one know how to implement this functionality? Thank you, Sridhar Moparthy
Can you use user defined dlls in php? If so does anyone know where I can find info on how to create a dll to use in PHP? K
I am also looking for an answer to this question. I am using the fallowing JavaScript to call the .dll file. <script language="JavaScript" src="http://server/Scripts/convert.dll?convert src=C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\art\\$id.$type&dest=C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\movies\\$id"> </script> Is there a way to call this for use in php? I believe this is a question of the same nature. Thanks, ----- Original Message ----- From: "Karen Siefken" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> To: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> Sent: Wednesday, October 24, 2001 1:05 PM Subject: [PHP-WIN] Dlls Can you use user defined dlls in php? If so does anyone know where I can find info on how to create a dll to use in PHP? K
Hey, I am using this piece of code to display news articles based on the variables inputted by a user. However, it will only display one article, never more, even if more are within the terms of the "WHERE" clause. What am I doing wrong? $search = mysql_query("SELECT news.ID, newstitle, newsdescription, newsdate, author, email FROM news, authors WHERE $name LIKE '%$value%' AND authors.ID=AID ORDER BY news.ID DESC"); if (!search) { echo("<p>Sorry, there are no matches for what you are looking for. Please try again</p>"); exit(); } Any help would be much appreciated Mark
Hello, I'm probably just being a bit thick, but how exactly do I get the mail function to work?.. Do I need a sendmail replacement? (I downloaded blat to see if that would help but can't see that it does.) ------ php.ini [mail function] ; For Win32 only. SMTP= mail.totalise.co.uk ; for Win32 only ; For Win32 only. sendmail_from= [EMAIL PROTECTED] ; for Win32 only ---------- Do I need to have this in?.. ; For Unix only. You may supply arguments as well (default: 'sendmail -t -i'). ;sendmail_path= I tried uncommenting the sendmail_path and pointed to c:\windows\blat.exe Called it from within a php page mail("[EMAIL PROTECTED]", "My Subject", "Line 1\nLine 2\nLine 3"); Got: Warning: Server Error in C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache\htdocs/email.php on line 11 whether I uncommented the sendmail_path line or not. Any help appreciated. I'm running Windows 98. Thanks Ross
Never mind people, I found a win32 version of sendmail and it works now. Ta anyway Ross -----Original Message----- From: Ross Fleming [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]] Sent: 24 October 2001 23:29 To: [EMAIL PROTECTED] Subject: [PHP-WIN] Sendmail... Hello, I'm probably just being a bit thick, but how exactly do I get the mail function to work?.. Do I need a sendmail replacement? (I downloaded blat to see if that would help but can't see that it does.) ------ php.ini [mail function] ; For Win32 only. SMTP= mail.totalise.co.uk ; for Win32 only ; For Win32 only. sendmail_from= [EMAIL PROTECTED] ; for Win32 only ---------- Do I need to have this in?.. ; For Unix only. You may supply arguments as well (default: 'sendmail -t -i'). ;sendmail_path= I tried uncommenting the sendmail_path and pointed to c:\windows\blat.exe Called it from within a php page mail("[EMAIL PROTECTED]", "My Subject", "Line 1\nLine 2\nLine 3"); Got: Warning: Server Error in C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache\htdocs/email.php on line 11 whether I uncommented the sendmail_path line or not. Any help appreciated. I'm running Windows 98. Thanks Ross -- PHP Windows Mailing List (http://www.php.net/) To unsubscribe, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED] For additional commands, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED] To contact the list administrators, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED]