php-windows Digest 24 Oct 2001 22:44:23 -0000 Issue 820

Topics (messages 9988 through 10005):

Re: MSSQL 7.0 and PHP
        9988 by: Carlos Andre Marques Moreira

Re: It gives me just a header!
        9989 by: Björn Lantz
        9993 by: Jason Wood

php_crypt.dll
        9990 by: Michal Krawczyk

Re: ADODB and using Workstation ID (odbc)
        9991 by: Marko

Mail and NT
        9992 by: Joseph Koenig
        9994 by: DL Neil
        9995 by: Tony Leach
        9997 by: FPU.WHITES1.FRIENDSPROVIDENT.CO.UK

Trouble Loading FDF library
        9996 by: Karen Siefken

Session management issues
        9998 by: Jason McIntyre

Redirecting to a new php file
        9999 by: Sridhar Moparthy
        10000 by: Flint Doungchak

Dlls
        10001 by: Karen Siefken
        10002 by: Josh Seward

Search Engine Problem
        10003 by: Mark Sweeney

Sendmail...
        10004 by: Ross Fleming
        10005 by: Ross Fleming

Administrivia:

To subscribe to the digest, e-mail:
        [EMAIL PROTECTED]

To unsubscribe from the digest, e-mail:
        [EMAIL PROTECTED]

To post to the list, e-mail:
        [EMAIL PROTECTED]


----------------------------------------------------------------------


I've seen this problem here before. Some guys posted this is a problem in
the mssql.dll, don't know if this has been fixed.
I had this problem here before, and i "fixed" it changing data type to TEXT

Carlos André

-----Original Message-----
From: Franco Breciano [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
Sent: quarta-feira, 24 de outubro de 2001 00:02
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: MSSQL 7.0 and PHP


I'm using php to retrieve a Query from a SQLServer 7.0 database.

My code is this one:

$base = mssql_select_db($db,$conexion);

$sql="SELECT MarcasSolicitante FROM Marcas";

$result = mssql_query($sql,$conexion);

  while ($myrow = mssql_fetch_array($result))
  {
   $mensaje= $myrow["MarcasSolicitante"];

   ?>
    <p><strong><font size="4"><u>Mensaje:</u></strong> &nbsp &nbsp</u> <font
size="3"><?echo $mensaje;?> </font></a></P>
    <hr>

<....>
<....>

The problem is that the field MarcasSolicitante in the database is
VarChar(7000), and php receives a Char(255), what I'm I doing wrong? Isi
there any parameter I can modify in order to retrieve correctly the fields??

Thanks in advance






Have you copied the php.ini-dist to c:\windows\php.ini ? If not, your php
might not aloow the 'short-tags' "<?" and "?>", but requires "<?php".

/Björn

"StefáN Vignir SkarphéðInsson" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message
[EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]...
> Thanks for trying to help :)
> If my server (xitami) would not run php it would send me the page
including
> the php source code.
>
> This happens even if I try to execute a script as simple as
> <? print ("blah blah blah") ?>
>
> Jason Wood <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message
> [EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]...
> > It means that either PHP is not running, or there's a parse error on the
> > page and you dont have the error handling set.
> >
> >
> > --
> > Jason Wood
> > Chief Technology Officer
> > Expressive Tek, Inc.
> > 407 Kehrs Mill Road
> > Ballwin, MO 63011
> > Phone 636.256.1362
> > www.expressivetek.com
> >
> >
> >
> > "StefáN Vingir SkarphéðInsson" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message
> > [EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]...
> > > Hello folks!
> > >
> > > I was trying to execute a PHP script (on Win98) but it came only this
> > source
> > > code from my server:
> > >
> > > <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
> > > <HTML><HEAD>
> > > <META http-equiv=Content-Type content="text/html;
> > > charset=windows-1252"></HEAD>
> > > <BODY></BODY></HTML>
> > >
> > > This happens to all the scripts I try to execute both from my server
and
> > > using MS-DOS-Prompt (php webpage.php) it returns nothing
> > >
> > > What's wrong?
> > > Please help!
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>






Hmm...  That always happened to me when I was working on a win2k machine
with IIS... I'd have a parse error, and the hosting company had all error
handling set off... so every time i had a parse error, i'd have to download
the file, update my local database, and check out the file... fix it... and
reupload it.  Such a pain in the butt =)

If that's not it, i've got no idea.  Sorry!

Jason


"StefáN Vignir SkarphéðInsson" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message
[EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]...
> Thanks for trying to help :)
> If my server (xitami) would not run php it would send me the page
including
> the php source code.
>
> This happens even if I try to execute a script as simple as
> <? print ("blah blah blah") ?>
>
> Jason Wood <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message
> [EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]...
> > It means that either PHP is not running, or there's a parse error on the
> > page and you dont have the error handling set.
> >
> >
> > --
> > Jason Wood
> > Chief Technology Officer
> > Expressive Tek, Inc.
> > 407 Kehrs Mill Road
> > Ballwin, MO 63011
> > Phone 636.256.1362
> > www.expressivetek.com
> >
> >
> >
> > "StefáN Vingir SkarphéðInsson" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message
> > [EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]...
> > > Hello folks!
> > >
> > > I was trying to execute a PHP script (on Win98) but it came only this
> > source
> > > code from my server:
> > >
> > > <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
> > > <HTML><HEAD>
> > > <META http-equiv=Content-Type content="text/html;
> > > charset=windows-1252"></HEAD>
> > > <BODY></BODY></HTML>
> > >
> > > This happens to all the scripts I try to execute both from my server
and
> > > using MS-DOS-Prompt (php webpage.php) it returns nothing
> > >
> > > What's wrong?
> > > Please help!
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>






Does anyone have this library? I would be very pleasure for it because I
can't find it.

Thanks in advance,
Michal Krawczyk







"SøRen Nielsen" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote in message
[EMAIL PROTECTED]">news:[EMAIL PROTECTED]...
> Can it be done with odbc ?
> I have tried and tried but nothing seems to work.
> Does anyone know if the Workstation ID can be set if i connect with odbc ?
>
> Best regards,
> Soeren Nielsen
>

I tried to do it at home (PWS and PHP4)  and it worked. I used Windows' ODBC
administration tool to create an Access driven database. In php code i used
the following commands:

            $db=odbc_connect("<DSN>","<username>","<password>");

            followed by

            $ersult=odbc_exec($db,"select * from........");

             and it worked.

But, when i tried in school on win2k server, i got the following error on
odbc_connect():

    Warning: SQL error: , SQL state 00000 in SQLConnect in
c:\inetpub\wwwroot\Ban\php\odbc.php on line 2

Can anyone help?







Hi,

I'm developing a site on a NT box (I'm much more familiar with unix) and
am unable to get mail to send on NT. I've edited the php.ini file so
that SMTP = gatekeeper, which is the name of the server. That's all I
saw in the manual and archives that would need to be changed. They have
Exchange running on that server. is it possible exchange is running as a
name other than 'gatekeeper', even though that's the name of the server?
Their admin says it is running as gatekeeper, but I'd like to ensure
that it really is. How do I check that, and if that's fine, what else
should I look at to get this working? Please CC me as I am not on the
win list. Thanks a lot,

Joe




> I'm developing a site on a NT box (I'm much more familiar with unix) and
> am unable to get mail to send on NT. I've edited the php.ini file so
> that SMTP = gatekeeper, which is the name of the server. That's all I
> saw in the manual and archives that would need to be changed. They have
> Exchange running on that server. is it possible exchange is running as a
> name other than 'gatekeeper', even though that's the name of the server?
> Their admin says it is running as gatekeeper, but I'd like to ensure
> that it really is. How do I check that, and if that's fine, what else
> should I look at to get this working? Please CC me as I am not on the
> win list. Thanks a lot,



Joe,

Is there a confusion here between the machine-name of the server, and the name of the 
email/SMTP server?
PHP needs the latter, which most would call SMTP.IPdomain.name.TLD.

=dn





If it's on the same box, have you tried just 'localhost' ?

-----Original Message-----
From: Joseph Koenig [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
Sent: 24 October 2001 16:54
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: [PHP-WIN] Mail and NT


Hi,

I'm developing a site on a NT box (I'm much more familiar with unix) and
am unable to get mail to send on NT. I've edited the php.ini file so
that SMTP = gatekeeper, which is the name of the server. That's all I
saw in the manual and archives that would need to be changed. They have
Exchange running on that server. is it possible exchange is running as a
name other than 'gatekeeper', even though that's the name of the server?
Their admin says it is running as gatekeeper, but I'd like to ensure
that it really is. How do I check that, and if that's fine, what else
should I look at to get this working? Please CC me as I am not on the
win list. Thanks a lot,

Joe

-- 
PHP Windows Mailing List (http://www.php.net/)
To unsubscribe, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
For additional commands, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
To contact the list administrators, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
================================
WordWrap Web Development Limited
    t   +44 (0) 131 555 3535
    f   +44 (0) 870 135 3656
    m   +44 (0) 7768 626588
================================




--- Received from FPU.WHITES1 799 3703                    24-10-01 17:00

  -> [EMAIL PROTECTED]
  -> [EMAIL PROTECTED]

Is the Exchange server presenting an SMTP/Sendmail server interface?
Last time I played with exchange (a couple of years ago) it had its own
protocol for talking to the email clients and only presented an SMTP
connection if you specifically set one up.

Yes I know it's a crap idea having it optional but that's microsoft for
you...

-Steve

-----Original Message-----
From: Joseph Koenig [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
Sent: 24 October 2001 16:54
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: [PHP-WIN] Mail and NT


Hi,

I'm developing a site on a NT box (I'm much more familiar with unix) and
am unable to get mail to send on NT. I've edited the php.ini file so
that SMTP = gatekeeper, which is the name of the server. That's all I
saw in the manual and archives that would need to be changed. They have
Exchange running on that server. is it possible exchange is running as a
name other than 'gatekeeper', even though that's the name of the server?
Their admin says it is running as gatekeeper, but I'd like to ensure
that it really is. How do I check that, and if that's fine, what else
should I look at to get this working? Please CC me as I am not on the
win list. Thanks a lot,

Joe

--
PHP Windows Mailing List (http://www.php.net/)
To unsubscribe, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
For additional commands, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
To contact the list administrators, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED]

This e-mail may contain confidential information and/or copyright
material. This e-mail is intended for the use of the addressee
only. Any unauthorised use may be unlawful.

If you receive this e-mail by mistake please advise the sender
immediately by using the reply facility in your e-mail software.

Friends Provident Marketing Group consists of the following
companies:

Friends Provident Life and Pensions Limited.
Registered number 4096141.
Friends' Provident Unit Trust Managers Limited.
Registered number 970641
FP Life Assurance Limited.
Registered number 782698
Friends Provident Pensions Limited.
Registered number 475201
Friends Ivory & Sime Managed Pensions Funds Limited.
Registered number 1020044
Registered and Head Office of each of the above companies is at Pixham End,
Dorking, Surrey RH4 1QA.
Registered in England. Incorporated companies limited by shares.
Ivory & Sime Trustlink Limited. Registered number 151198
Registered and Head Office: One Charlotte Square, Edinburgh EH2
4DZ.  Registered in Scotland. Incorporated company limited by
shares.

Companies within this Group transact life assurance, pension,
permanent health, unit trust and investment trust business

All are regulated by the Personal Investment Authority.
Friends' Provident Unit Trust Managers Limited is also regulated
by IMRO.




Hi I'm on IIS5/W2K and I am having trouble using FDF functions.
In my ini file
extension_dir = C:\PHP\extensions
I uncommented the extension=php_fdf.dll in the list of windows extensions.
I am using a virtual web folder to test my scripts. /iaphp on my local disc it's 
C:\iaphp
I copied the adobe fdf toolkit files : Fdftk.dll,  FDfTk.h and FDFTK.LIB to C:\iaphp
When I open phpinfo() FDf is enabled.
I have one PDF document on my local disc in a folder other than my virtual web folder. 
  I open with ie fill out the form and submit to a test script. I works.
But when I save the file on my web browser folder, browse the site, open the same 
file, fill it and submit it I get "Unable to load dynamic library 
'C:\PHP\extensions/php_fdf.dll' - The specified module could not be found."

So, does anybody know what I'm doing wrong!?

Thanks!
Karen




Hi there:
I am using PHP 4+ and MySQL to manage access to secured areas on a website.
My problem is that my session functions don't seem to be working properly.
Even after I start and register a session variable, my function to check
that session variable says that it doesn't exist. Help!

Here are the scripts:

Login page:

<?
 require_once("db_con.php"); -creates the database connection
 require_once("user_auth.php"); - authenticates user in database
 session_start();

 if($txtUsername && $txtPassword)
 {
  $result = login($txtUsername, $txtPassword);
     if (!$result)
     {
        header("Location: loginerror.php");
  }
  else
  {
   session_start();
   session_register("valid_user");
   $valid_user = $result; - this passes in the unique id of the person who
logged in.
   header("Location: ../memberso/default.php?idccacon=".$valid_user);
     }
      exit;
    }
?>
---------------------------------
Now if the user exists it opens the ...default.php page, which has this code
...
<?
require_once("valid_user.php");
check_valid_user(); - which is in the valid_user.php


This is the function that is called.

<?
 function check_valid_user()
 {
  global $valid_user;
  if (!session_is_registered("valid_user"))
      header("Location: ../secure/accesserror.php");
 }
?>


thx!
Jason






Hi All,

Is there any command in PHP that redirects to a php file from another php
file?
If not does any one know how to implement this functionality?

Thank you,
Sridhar Moparthy






Header("Location: newlocation.php");

-----Original Message-----
From: Sridhar Moparthy [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
Sent: Wednesday, October 24, 2001 11:52 AM
To: Php-Windows (E-mail); Php-General (E-mail)
Subject: [PHP-WIN] Redirecting to a new php file


Hi All,

Is there any command in PHP that redirects to a php file from another php
file?
If not does any one know how to implement this functionality?

Thank you,
Sridhar Moparthy






Can you use user defined dlls in php? If so does anyone know where I can find info on 
how to create a dll to use in PHP?

K




I am also looking for an answer to this question. I am using the fallowing
JavaScript to call the .dll file.

<script language="JavaScript" src="http://server/Scripts/convert.dll?convert
src=C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\art\\$id.$type&dest=C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\movies\\$id">
</script>

Is there a way to call this for use in php?

I believe this is a question of the same nature.

Thanks,






----- Original Message -----
From: "Karen Siefken" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Sent: Wednesday, October 24, 2001 1:05 PM
Subject: [PHP-WIN] Dlls


Can you use user defined dlls in php? If so does anyone know where I can
find info on how to create a dll to use in PHP?

K








Hey,

I am using this piece of code to display news articles based on the variables inputted 
by a user. However, it will only display one article, never more, even if more are 
within the terms of the "WHERE" clause. What am I doing wrong?

$search = mysql_query("SELECT news.ID, newstitle, newsdescription, newsdate, author, 
email FROM news, authors WHERE $name LIKE '%$value%' AND authors.ID=AID ORDER BY 
news.ID DESC");
if (!search) {
echo("<p>Sorry, there are no matches for what you are looking for. Please try 
again</p>");
exit();
}

Any help would be much appreciated

Mark




Hello, I'm probably just being a bit thick, but how exactly do I get the
mail function to work?..

Do I need a sendmail replacement? (I downloaded blat to see if that would
help but can't see that it does.)

------
php.ini


[mail function]
; For Win32 only.
SMTP= mail.totalise.co.uk ; for Win32 only

; For Win32 only.
sendmail_from= [EMAIL PROTECTED] ; for Win32 only

----------

Do I need to have this in?..

; For Unix only.  You may supply arguments as well (default:
'sendmail -t -i').
;sendmail_path=

I tried uncommenting the sendmail_path and pointed to c:\windows\blat.exe

Called it from within a php page
mail("[EMAIL PROTECTED]", "My Subject", "Line 1\nLine 2\nLine 3");

Got:
Warning: Server Error in C:\Program Files\Apache
Group\Apache\htdocs/email.php on line 11

whether I uncommented the sendmail_path line or not.

Any help appreciated.  I'm running Windows 98.

Thanks

Ross





Never mind people, I found a win32 version of sendmail and it works now.

Ta anyway

Ross

-----Original Message-----
From: Ross Fleming [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
Sent: 24 October 2001 23:29
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: [PHP-WIN] Sendmail...


Hello, I'm probably just being a bit thick, but how exactly do I get the
mail function to work?..

Do I need a sendmail replacement? (I downloaded blat to see if that would
help but can't see that it does.)

------
php.ini


[mail function]
; For Win32 only.
SMTP= mail.totalise.co.uk ; for Win32 only

; For Win32 only.
sendmail_from= [EMAIL PROTECTED] ; for Win32 only

----------

Do I need to have this in?..

; For Unix only.  You may supply arguments as well (default:
'sendmail -t -i').
;sendmail_path=

I tried uncommenting the sendmail_path and pointed to c:\windows\blat.exe

Called it from within a php page
mail("[EMAIL PROTECTED]", "My Subject", "Line 1\nLine 2\nLine 3");

Got:
Warning: Server Error in C:\Program Files\Apache
Group\Apache\htdocs/email.php on line 11

whether I uncommented the sendmail_path line or not.

Any help appreciated.  I'm running Windows 98.

Thanks

Ross


-- 
PHP Windows Mailing List (http://www.php.net/)
To unsubscribe, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
For additional commands, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
To contact the list administrators, e-mail: [EMAIL PROTECTED]





Reply via email to