The creator ID is the same.  I did change the version
string in Constructor.  I renamed the file to keep
track of which version was which.  I figured Palm
Desktop would delete the older .prc file when I
installed the new one, but they're both there in the
backup directory.  How does it know which file to
restore to the handheld after a hard reset?  Or does
it do both?

--- Steven Fisher <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:

> Huiqiang Zhang wrote:
> > Did you changed the program's CreatorID or TypeID?
> Normally if a new 
> > version of a program is installed, and it has the
> same TypeID as the old 
> > version program which still exist in the device,
> then the Palm OS will 
> > replace the old version of the program. So if you
> make all the versions 
> > of your program always with the same TypeID and
> CreatorID, everything 
> > will be OK!
> 
> What if the file names vary, i.e. if the PRC is
> actually called 
> Program_v1.0.prc vs. Program_v1.1.prc?
> 
> (No, I don't put version numbers in the name, but it
> seems to be 
> something the OP might have been doing. Maybe I
> misunderstood.)
> 
> -- 
> For information on using the Palm Developer Forums,
> or to unsubscribe, please see
> http://www.palmos.com/dev/support/forums/
> 


-- 
For information on using the Palm Developer Forums, or to unsubscribe, please 
see http://www.palmos.com/dev/support/forums/

Reply via email to