Hmmm - just been playing around with this a bit more and I am not so sure 
that this right.  What I found was that whenever I selected a particular 
view on a particular tab, the columns on that tab would adjust to a layout 
specific to that view  (ie: the column settings are saved with the view). 
 And the same was true across multiple tabs - ie a given view would have 
the same column layout irrespective of the tab on which it was being 
displayed.   But I am also pretty sure that when you change the column 
settings on a particular view on a particular tab, the view does not 
acquire an * to indicate that it has been changed and I am not sure what 
one needs to do to save that new set of column settings.

Richard

On Sunday, 7 December 2014 21:45:56 UTC, Richard C wrote:
>
> It has never been clear to me where and when column settings are saved.   
>  I think Dwight is right about them now being part of a view but it is less 
> than clear what they are associated with and what saves.them.  And things 
> get even less clear when one starts opening extra windows using the F3 tab.
>
> So you are not alone in being confused.   I know I have been.
>
> Not sure whether this helps!
>
> Richard
>
> On Saturday, 6 December 2014 13:32:47 UTC, John Smith wrote:
>>
>>
>> Hi
>>
>> I have a problem with view columns that keep reverting.
>>
>> Seeming all of my  Views (and one of them in particular) - are extremely 
>> frustrating because the columns are not in the sequence and position that I 
>> want. But every time I change them back to how I want them (and yes, then 
>> hit "Save" at the bottom of the Filter panel on the left - either saving to 
>> the same or a new name), then all it takes is for me to look an any other 
>> View and then BANG the columns have reverted to where they were.  [grrr]
>>
>> Fwiw, the two columns in question are "Importance" and "Urgency". The 
>> View in question is mainly a rather complicated one that I constructed from 
>> scratch, but the problem also affects other Views including the original 
>> "Outline > All tasks" view that won't let me Save at all. (==> "You are not 
>> allowed to change predefined views...")
>>
>> [Aside: Strangely although you aren't allowed to change the predefined 
>> view you ARE allowed to change the columns aspect of the view whatever the 
>> software says.]
>>
>> But the problem is not remotely consistent. It does seem to help somewhat 
>> if you have two copies of the exactly same View next to each other on the 
>> left hand column. But not for very long... And it may revert at any point. 
>> Certainly as soon as you delete the spare one, the other one's columns 
>> always seem to go wrong again!
>>
>> This definitely feels like a bug to me. (Ouch! Ironically as soon as I 
>> wrote the word bug - if confirmed by act of God - I get a message to my 
>> screen that MLO has actually crashed!)  
>>
>> Any suggestions or best practices as to how to avoid the columns going 
>> wrong?
>>
>> e.g. Should I delete all copies of my Views and rebuild them from scratch?
>> e.g. Should I export all my data and import into a new blank MLO file? (V 
>> painful obviously as I would lose a lot of settings presumably..)
>>
>>

-- 
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups 
"MyLifeOrganized" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email 
to [email protected].
To post to this group, send email to [email protected].
Visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/mylifeorganized.
To view this discussion on the web visit 
https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/mylifeorganized/150a01bd-189b-4e9f-b746-c5cb3c5d4af7%40googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.

Reply via email to