On Monday 14 Jan 2013 02:11:32 Adam Carter wrote: > shred and dd available, but not srm etc > > I want to remove the user account info before the device is returned, but > dont want to cripple the device. Filesystem is ext3 with default mount > options, which implies its mounted with the default data=ordered, and > according to the docs "In both the data=ordered (default) and > data=writeback modes, shred works as usual" > > Would these steps be effective? > - set root pw back to installation default > - manually create copies of passwd and shadow (named passwd2 shadow2, NOT > by copying files then deleting extra lines) containing only the default > installation entries > - shred /etc/passwd /etc/shadow > - mv passwd2 and shadow2 to passwd and shadow > - dd if=/dev/zero of=/blah (to blank all spare blocks on fs, dd will bail > out once full. Will it miss info from non-fully allocated blocks?) > - rm /blah
Sounds good, but you would also need to shred -z -u /home/user files just in case some private files are still in there? Also, where is mail stored? -- Regards, Mick
signature.asc
Description: This is a digitally signed message part.

