Thanks again for the replies.  Think I was able to get it to work just had to 
re-code a few things compared to simply using reloadData...

rc



On Jun 20, 2012, at 1:58 AM, Corbin Dunn wrote:

> Well, that method doesn't animate.
> 
> Conceptually, what you have to do is this (and assuming you are using a view 
> based table view):
> 
> 1. Call beginUpdates on the table *important*
> 2. Modify the table to add/remove all the rows that you added or removed. 
> Note that it works like an NSArray, so calling removeRow:3 will remove row 3, 
> and then what was at row 4 is now at row 3. So to delete what was at row 4 
> you call removeRow:3 again. This is *different* from how it works on iOS 
> which "freezes" the table and does not treat it like an array
> 3. Call endUpdates
> 
> The table will not call the datasource during the time you call 
> beginUpdates/endUpdates.
> 
> corbin
> 
> On Jun 18, 2012, at 5:26 PM, Rick C. <rickcort...@gmail.com> wrote:
> 
>> Thanks I will take a look!
>> 
>> 
>> On Jun 19, 2012, at 3:59 AM, Marc Respass wrote:
>> 
>>>> What I'm basically trying to do is call reloadData but with animation and 
>>>> I can't see how to do it?  I know about removing/inserting rows with 
>>>> animation and I tried this, but I keep crashing and I would think it's 
>>>> because I'm removing rows and inserting rows after my datasource has been 
>>>> modified.  That's why normally I use reloadData and it works fine.  Also, 
>>>> it seems there is a method to do this in iOS but it's not available on 
>>>> Mac.  So is it possible to do this?  Or can I only use the animation when 
>>>> removing inserting rows without changing the modifying the datasource?  
>>>> Thanks,
>>>> 
>>> Hi Rick,
>>> 
>>> You probably want
>>> - (void)reloadDataForRowIndexes:(NSIndexSet *)rowIndexes 
>>> columnIndexes:(NSIndexSet *)columnIndexes NS_AVAILABLE_MAC(10_6);
>>> 
>>> In my app, I use it to update rows which get updated one at a time but you 
>>> can provide an index set with many rows. You might be able to use 
>>> -rowsInRect which I haven't used passing the rect of the table view's 
>>> scroll view, I would think. Then you can create the index set with 
>>> -indexSetWithIndexesInRange:
>>> 
>>> Hope this helps
>>> Marc
>>> 
>>> _______________________________________________
>>> 
>>> Cocoa-dev mailing list (Cocoa-dev@lists.apple.com)
>>> 
>>> Please do not post admin requests or moderator comments to the list.
>>> Contact the moderators at cocoa-dev-admins(at)lists.apple.com
>>> 
>>> Help/Unsubscribe/Update your Subscription:
>>> https://lists.apple.com/mailman/options/cocoa-dev/rickcorteza%40gmail.com
>>> 
>>> This email sent to rickcort...@gmail.com
>> 
>> 
>> _______________________________________________
>> 
>> Cocoa-dev mailing list (Cocoa-dev@lists.apple.com)
>> 
>> Please do not post admin requests or moderator comments to the list.
>> Contact the moderators at cocoa-dev-admins(at)lists.apple.com
>> 
>> Help/Unsubscribe/Update your Subscription:
>> https://lists.apple.com/mailman/options/cocoa-dev/corbind%40apple.com
>> 
>> This email sent to corb...@apple.com
> 


_______________________________________________

Cocoa-dev mailing list (Cocoa-dev@lists.apple.com)

Please do not post admin requests or moderator comments to the list.
Contact the moderators at cocoa-dev-admins(at)lists.apple.com

Help/Unsubscribe/Update your Subscription:
https://lists.apple.com/mailman/options/cocoa-dev/archive%40mail-archive.com

This email sent to arch...@mail-archive.com

Reply via email to