Ed Murphy wrote: > coppro wrote: > White can be acquired by mentoring a new player, which can theoretically > happen more than once.
Oh. The wording is pretty ambiguous; I read it as the new player getting the Ribbon, and since they can only name one mentor, they can only acquire it the second time and never again. It's pretty ambiguous, though that reading makes far more sense. > These clauses contradict one another. Also, since the second has an > ongoing effect, they should be made into a new rule that allows its > own repeal if it no longer imposes any obligations. The intention is that they apply consecutively; they are grandfathered into a victory before the new Ribbon types are established, then they cease to be able to win until they destroy their Ribbons, as is normally the case. Looking at the archives, the only effect of this clause would be to cause Zefram to win, rather than awaiting his return and posting es own win announcement. (Is {es} the correct word there? Or would {is} or {eis} be better?). The other would cause you (Murphy) to be unable to win until you acquired another Ribbon. Now, I think you actually just did by winning (since I previously thought you could only be awarded a patent title once, though I do believe that is no longer correct).